

## Attention Animal Disease Risk!

CLASSICAL FOWL PLAGUE (highly pathogenic form of AVIAN INFLUENZA, BIRD FLU) occurred in THIRD COUNTRIES<sup>1)</sup> in a widespread manner.

Avian influenza is a highly infectious viral disease for poultry and other birds that can quickly assume epidemic dimensions in animal populations. Some particularly pathogenic strain-types of the agent can also pose a danger to humans. The disease can therefore seriously jeopardise human and animal health and cause severe economic damage with respect to susceptible animal species.

## Please note!

The disease agent is passed on by infected animals, but can also be transmitted by products such as eggs and poultry meat or through clothes, shoes or other objects from infected areas. Please avoid direct contacts with animals in the holiday destination<sup>1)2)</sup> and refrain from visiting poultry markets. You should only eat cooked or well-done poultry meat and poultry products.

## <u>Travellers are therefore, in principle, prohibited from importing food</u> <u>of animal origin into the European Union (EU) !!!</u>

In addition, imports into the EU of poultry, other birds as well as feathers, unprocessed game trophies and other products derived from poultry are prohibited from those third countries<sup>1)</sup> where avian influenza has occurred as well as from third countries<sup>2)</sup> where a particularly great risk exists!

Upon entry to Germany, you will be required to make an oral statement at the request of the customs authority indicating whether you carry along the above-mentioned goods.

No more than five (5) birds may be imported into the EU from all other third countries in tourist traffic. These animals must be accompanied by a veterinary certificate and a statement by the owner!

## Thank you very much for your understanding and your cooperation!

- Indonesia, Cambodia, Kazakhstan, Croatia, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, North Korea, Pakistan, Romania, Russia, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam, People's Republic of China, including Hong Kong
- <sup>2)</sup> Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Irag, Iran, Syria