Seniors' Guide
Manitoba Council on Aging
The Manitoba Council on Aging serves in an advisory capacity to the Minister
responsible for Seniors. The Council ensures that a senior's perspective is reflected in
government programs and policies that relate to seniors.
Council's responsibilities include:
- identifying areas of opportunity for government in adapting programs, policies, and
services to accommodate the age structures of Manitoba's population;
- increasing public awareness and understanding of the aging process and its implications
for all age groups in Manitoba;
- reviewing and providing recommendations on projects, programs, proposals and legislation
to better reflect seniors' changing needs, issues and concerns as referred by the
Minister; and
- providing an opportunity for dialogue through appropriate meetings with relevant
organizations, groups and individuals to fulfill its mandate.
For further information about the Manitoba Council on Aging, call or write to:
Manitoba Council on Aging
822 - 155 Carlton Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 3H8
Phone: 945-2127
Toll-free: 1-800-665-6565
Manitoba Seniors and Healthy Aging Secretariat
The Manitoba Seniors and Healthy
Aging Secretariat provides support to the Minister responsible for
Seniors to ensure the needs and concerns of seniors are reflected through a co-ordinated
and comprehensive framework of legislation, public policy and programs.
It provides a central source of information and referral for seniors and their
families, seniors' organizations and government departments. The Secretariat coordinates a
multidisciplinary approach to addressing elder abuse; develops partnerships with other
government departments, community groups and the private sector; and provides policy and
administrative support to the Council on Aging in the exploration of aging issues. The Secretariat works with all departments to create an environment within the Province of
Manitoba that promotes health, independence and well-being of all Manitoba seniors.
For more information contact:
Manitoba Seniors and Healthy Aging Secretariat
822 - 155 Carlton Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 3H8
Phone: 945-2127
Toll-free: 1-800-665-6565
Fax: 948-2514
Seniors Information Line
The Seniors Information Line provides seniors and their families with quick and easy
access to information about seniors' programs and services. The Seniors Information Line
enables callers to have concerns and questions handled promptly by the
the Manitoba Seniors and Healthy Aging Secretariat.
In Winnipeg: 945-6565
Toll-free: 1-800-665-6565
Seniors Abuse Line
The Seniors Abuse Line is a confidential information service aimed at providing
seniors, family members, professionals, and others with a one-stop information resource on
elder abuse. The abuse line staff provide information on community resources and support
services that are available throughout Manitoba. An elder abuse consultant is also
available to provide education and training, and to assist communities to ensure that
services and supports are coordinated and available to abused older persons. For more
information, contact:
Seniors Abuse Line
Phone: 945-1884
Toll-free: 1-888-896-7183
Manitoba Government Inquiry
Have you ever wanted to contact the provincial government, but weren't sure where to
direct your inquiry? Manitoba
Government Inquiry, the Government of Manitoba's bilingual information and
referral service will help you identify and access which provincial program or service you
need.
To access provincial government services, contact Manitoba Government Inquiry at:
Phone: 945-3744
Fax: (204) 945-4261
Toll-free in Manitoba:
1-866-MANITOBA
(1-866-626-4862)
Telecommunications Device for the Deaf: 945-4796
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
233-ALLÔ, centre d’information
The
233-ALLÔ
is an information centre that offers services and information to anyone interested in the
Francophone community in Manitoba. It also specializes in employment services and
information for Francophones 55 and over.
233-ALLÔ, centre d’information
#215 – 383 Provencher Blvd.
St. Boniface (MB) R2H 0G9
Phone: 233-ALLÔ (2556)
Toll-free: 1-800-665-4443
Fax: 233-1017
CONTACT Community Information
CONTACT Community Information is a community information referral service, which refers
Manitobans to social services and programs available through health, educational, cultural
and recreational resources in the province of Manitoba.
Contact operates a free, confidential inquiry line Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:30
p.m., publishes Community Resource Guides containing information on community
organizations and programs, and provides the same community service information via their
website.
CONTACT Community Information
Suite 410, 5 Donald Street S.
Winnipeg, MB R3L 2T4
Phone: (204) 287-8827
Toll-free: 1-866-266-4636
Fax: (204) 287-8785
Congratulatory Messages
The
Greetings
Branch of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly is the central office for all
congratulatory messages.
Contact the Greetings Branch for information about which birthdays and
anniversaries are eligible to receive congratulatory messages.
Province of Manitoba
Greetings Branch
Room 244 Legislative Building
450 Broadway
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
Phone: 945-1657
Toll-free: 1-800-282-8069
Fax: 945-1443
Messages from mayors and reeves may be arranged by contacting their respective offices.
Religious messages may be arranged through your local clergy. The Greetings Branch
supplies phone numbers for messages from the Pope.
Archives of Manitoba
The
Archives of Manitoba holds
records from the courts, many provincial government programs, local governments, school
authorities, and religious organizations, which may be helpful in establishing proof of
age for obtaining social and financial benefits or for searching family history. The
Archives also has extensive records in various media donated by individuals, businesses
and organizations from Manitoba’s earliest days, including records of the
Hudson’s Bay Company dating back to the year 1670.
Archives of Manitoba
200 Vaughan Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 1T5
Phone: 945-3971
Toll-free: 1-800-617-3588
Fax: 948-2008
|
