WORKING GROUP ON GEOSPATIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(MOU BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRA PRADESH AND THE EARTH SCIENCES SECTOR, NATURAL RESOURCES CANADA)

TERMS OF REFERENCE

Background

On November 13, 2002, a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) concerning cooperation in the field of geospatial information technology was signed between the Government of Andhra Pradesh and the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada (jointly referred to as the "Participants"). The signing of the MOU took place in Hyderabad and was witnessed by the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, India and the Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

Article Seven of the MOU specifically provides for the designation of appropriate representatives to identify cooperative activities and details of implementation. The Participants have decided to create a Working Group to provide direction for the cooperation and monitor progress.

Objective

The objective of the Working Group is to identify cooperative activities under the MOU and details of implementation.

Scope

The Working Group will guide the Participants and their stakeholders, as appropriate, in strengthening cooperation for the benefit of both countries. In particular, it will conduct the following activities:

- a) discuss cooperation in areas falling within the MOU and conduct ongoing dialogue and exchange information;
- b) propose specific activities for cooperation within the terms of the MOU;
- c) initiate, review and recommend Annexes to the MOU;
- d) monitor progress towards the objectives of the general thrust for cooperation as well as specific activities; and
- e) recommend new thrusts for cooperation in areas of mutual interest as identified under Article Four (section "g") of the MOU

Resources

Administration

Each Participant maintains its own in-country Secretariat for the Working Group and is responsible for organizing the Working Group meeting in that country including the venue and dissemination of information such as the minutes of the meeting to members and designated stakeholders. For Canada, the Secretariat will be maintained by the International Division of the Earth Sciences Sector. For Andhra Pradesh, India, the Secretariat will be maintained by the Planning Department.

Membership

The Working Group will comprise three members from each Participant:

 The Working Group will be co-chaired by the Chief Secretary, Government of Andhra Pradesh and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada. In addition, the Working Group will count a senior representative each from the Planning Department and a senior representative of Geomatics Canada, along with another representative of the government of Andhra Pradesh, and a representative from the International Division of the Earth Sciences Sector.

Following conditions outlined in Article Five of the MOU, each Participant may invite selected individuals of its stakeholders including those from academia and industry as members for selected Working Group meetings.

Funding

No cost incurred by one Participant shall be assumed by the other Participant unless otherwise agreed to in writing.

Expectations

The Working Group will meet once a year, subject to mutual agreement of the Participants, with the meeting location alternating between the two countries. The duration of the meeting may range from one-half a day to two days. There will be some preparation required for meetings, and it is expected that Working Group members will use e-mail or fax to communicate.

Deliverables

The key deliverables that are expected from the meetings and other discussions of the Working Group are:

- Summary of meetings to be provided by the Participant hosting the meeting
- Regular updates documenting the progress on specific activities undertaken as well as new initiatives and thrusts in areas of mutual interest for cooperation under the MOU
- Advice on communication strategies and needs
- Advice on emerging issues.

Duration and Amendment

These Terms of Reference will remain in force until the expiration or termination of the MOU. It may be amended at any time by the mutual written agreement of the Participants.

Signed in Hyderabad (India) on the 4th day of October, 2005.

Accepted on behalf of NRCan:

Accepted on behalf of the Government of Andhra Pradesh:

Dr. Irwin Itzkovitch Assistant Deputy Minister, Earth Sciences Sector Natural Resources Canada A.K.Goel
Principal Secretary,
Planning Department
Government of Andhra Pradesh