|
CIPEC Annual Reports
CIPEC's annual reports outline the energy efficiency accomplishments of its 26 Canadian Industrial Task Forces. Each report's "Success Stories" section highlights the efforts of just a few of hundreds of CIPEC participants who are improving their energy use through innovation. The reports also give an overview of each sector and outline their achievements, targets and challenges.
CIPEC 2002-2003 Annual Report HTML | PDF
(Cat. No. M92-141-3/2003-E)
Total energy saved by CIPEC industries in 2002 translates into fuel cost savings of $3.4 billion and represents substantial environmental benefits. In 2002, through effective energy management improvements the manufacturing, mining, construction, upstream oil and gas, and energy producing sectors involved in CIPEC avoided 25.2 MT of energy-related GHG emissions.
2001-2002 (Cat. No. M92-143-2002-1E) HTML
2000-2001 (Cat. No. M92-143-2001-1E) HTML | PDF
1999/2000 (Cat. No. M92-143-2000-1E) HTML | PDF
Energy Efficiency Guides and Other Publications
Energy Management Information Systems
Written for all levels of management and operational staff, this handbook aims to give a structured and practical understanding of an Energy Management Information System (EMIS) and to serve as an instruction guide for its implementation. The EMIS handbook can be an integral part of a company's Energy Management Program (EMP) because it covers all aspects of an EMIS – including metering, data collection, data analysis, reporting and cost/benefit analyses.
HTML | Download PDF
Energy Cost Reduction in the Pulp and Paper Industry - An Energy Benchmarking Perspective
HTML | Download PDF
Energy Benchmarking: Canadian Potash Production Facilities
HTML | Download PDF
Boilers and Heaters - Improving Energy Efficiency
(Cat. No. M92-229-2001E)
Energy costs rising? Efficiency way down? Heat losses out of control? To help Canadian industry cope with the challenge of improving energy efficiency in boilers and heaters, the Office of Energy Efficiency of NRCan, in partnership with Ontario's Ministry of the Environment, Union Gas Limited and Enbridge Gas Distribution (formerly Enbridge Consumers Gas), has published a guide to address these concerns.
HTML | Download PDF - 4,8 MB
Guide to Energy Efficiency in Aluminum Smelters
(Cat. No. M27-01-1115E)
Produced by the Aluminum Association of Canada and Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency, this publication shows how reduced energy consumption can often achieve better output performance. Outlined are energy efficiency measures common to all industrial sectors and measures that are specific to melting furnaces in the aluminum sector, including how to optimize burner placement inside reverberatory furnaces.
Download PDF - 6.0MB
Guide to Energy Efficiency Opportunities in the Dairy Processing Industry
(Cat. No. M27-01-827E)
This guide was produced by Wardrop Engineering with the National Dairy Council of Canada, Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency and the CIPEC Dairy Task Force. The guide contains checklists for all processes of the dairy industry and offers several no- and low-cost energy-saving ideas. Many no-cost energy-saving opportunities involve preventive maintenance. Minor capital equipment items, such as nozzles and hose valves, typically cost less than $5,000 and have payback periods of between 12 to 18 months. Also outlined are nine technological areas for possible retrofits that apply to direct process improvements. A range of probable capital costs, savings and payback periods are listed for easy reference.
Download PDF 2.2MB
Guide to Energy Efficiency Opportunities in Canadian Foundries
(Cat. No. M92-262/2003E)
The aim of Energy Efficiency Opportunities in Canadian Foundries is to give foundry professionals a practical, concise and systematic guide to improving energy efficiency in a foundry. The guide was created through the efforts of the Canadian Foundry Association and CIPEC – through Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency.
HTML | Download PDF
Energy Consumption Benchmark Guide - Conventional Petroleum Refining in Canada
(Cat. No. M27-01-1860E)
The purpose of this document is to provide such a tool where one’s own refinery can be compared to others to allow the manager to make reasonable, appropriate decisions about energy use and efficiency.
HTML | PDF
Energy-Efficient Motor Systems Assessment Guide
(Cat. No. M92-165-1999F)
Motor systems consume more than 75 percent of a plant's electrical power. Effective management of motor systems considers maintenance programs, equipment operation and how to establish a repair/replace policy.
HTML | PDF
Energy Efficiency Opportunities in the Solid Wood Industries
(Cat. No. M27-01-828E)
Developed by the Council of Forest Industries and CIPEC, this guide offers information on energy efficiency opportunities specific to the solid wood industry, new energy efficiency technologies, program assessment and an action plan for natural gas and electrical energy savings. The guide includes a poster that shows potential electrical energy savings as a percentage of total electricity used by a typical sawmill. It also shows how a mill that spends $1.5 million annually on electricity can save $231,000 per year.
Download PDF - 10.8MB
Energy Efficiency Opportunities in the Canadian Brewing Industry
(Cat. No. M27-01-945E)
A joint project of the Brewers Association of Canada, Natural Resources Canada and the CIPEC Brewing Industry Sector Task Force, this guide is full of energy-saving information for large and small operations. Outlined are opportunities specific to the brewing industry, their implementation, and a rationale for the sound management of energy and utilities within the larger management of breweries. The guide's appendices offer useful data, contact information, case studies and comprehensive checklists.
Download PDF - 21.1MB
Energy Efficiency Opportunities in the Canadian Rubber Industry
(Cat. No. M92-137-1997E)
A collaborative effort of the Rubber Association of Canada, Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency and CIPEC, this guide provides rubber product manufacturers with information on identifying energy efficiency opportunities for their facilities and processes, shows how to reduce energy costs, and provides a list of questions that can be used in an energy audit.
Download PDF - 16.2MB
A Guide to Energy Savings Opportunities in the Kraft Pulp Industry
(Cat. No. M27-01-1317E)
This guide, to be published in 2000, is designed to give pulp and paper engineers a practical, concise, step-by-step approach to improve the energy efficiency of a kraft mill. Outlined are energy audits, benchmarking against existing and new mills, technical literature, impacts on mill systems and projecting cost savings. The Energy Committee of the Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada (PAPTAC), which also serves as the CIPEC Pulp and Paper Task Force, initiated this project with assistance from Natural Resources Canada's Office of Energy Efficiency.
Energy Efficiency Opportunity Guide in the Lime Industry
(Cat. No. M92-231-2001E)
Developed as a practical source of information for lime processors and calcining personnel in Canada, this guide will offer up-to-date information on energy-efficient equipment and process methodologies in the lime sector. Strategies for energy cost reductions will also be presented along with plant efficiency checklists and contact information for government, utilities and vendors.
Income Tax Issues Related to Energy Performance Contracting
This document deals with tax issues that could affect businesses that enter into an energy performance contract (EPC). It reviews the implications for EPCs of federal and provincial income tax, taxes on capital and sales taxes.
HTML | PDF
Innovative Financing: An Introduction
(Cat. No. M27-01-1654E)
This new publication is an introduction to alternative financing concepts for companies in the industrial sector who wish to carry out large energy efficiency projects without paying cash up front. As the cost of energy increases, more and more companies are looking for ways to reduce their energy bills and ultimately improve their bottom line. There are many ways to do this, but if financing the cost of energy saving projects is an issue, innovative financing techniques can play an important role.
HTML | PDF
Innovative Financing Means Energy Savings: Energy Performance Contracting at DuPont Canada
(Cat. No. M27-01-1653E)
Innovative Financing Case Study.
HTML | PDF
Energy Performance Financing Drives Project at Ford of Canada
(Cat. No. M92-247-2002E)
Innovative Financing Case Study
HTML | PDF
CIPEC Energy Efficiency Planning and Management Guide
(Cat. No. M92-239-2001E)
Produced by the Office of Energy Efficiency of Natural Resources Canada, this edition of the guide - first published in 1981 and revised in 1993 - has been extensively rewritten and updated with the latest information available. Reflecting 27 years of energy efficiency experience, the guide focuses on reducing energy-related greenhouse gases (GHGs) through profit-enhancing, energy efficiency measures that will increase the competitiveness of Canadian industry.
HTML | PDF - 1.5MB
CIPEC 2002 Success Stories
(Cat. No. M92-234/2002E)
The Canadian Industry Program for Energy Conservation (CIPEC) salutes the Industrial Energy Innovators featured in this fifth edition of CIPEC Success Stories. These companies demonstrate that energy efficiency gains are possible across all industrial sectors in all regions of Canada. Since 1998, CIPEC’s Success Stories have featured more than 50 companies that embrace energy efficiency innovation and, through their unique vision and perspective, inspire others to advance energy efficiency programs.
HTML | PDF
|
Return Home
Industrial
