



FOR RELEASE #125 May 29, 2002

YUKONERS APPOINTED TO AIR TRAVEL COMMITTEE

WHITEHORSE – Six Yukoners have been appointed to sit as members and alternate members of the recently formed Air Travel Committee for a two-year term, Infrastructure Minister Scott Kent announced today.

"The committee was formed to help improve air travel for everyone," said Kent. "It will review airline practices and watch for any anti-competitive practices, such as offering air fares so low that another carrier couldn't possibly compete over the long term."

Yukon government members include: Robert Clark, the supervisor of Research and Product Enhancement for the Department of Business, Tourism and Culture. Clark has actively worked on Yukon air access issues for the past two years; Siegfried Fuchsbichler, the Director of Policy and Communications in the Department of Infrastructure; and Paul Goguen, the General Manager of the Yukon Electrical Co. Ltd.

Alternates include Rick Curiel, the Director of Policy, Planning and Evaluation for the Department of Business, Tourism and Culture; Mark Evans-Ehricht, a policy analyst in the Department of Infrastructure; and Yukon News President Stephen Robertson.

Earlier this year, the government adopted the Government Air Travel Policy to support fair competition among airlines that operate in the territory. The policy applies to carriers that provide year-round service between the Yukon and southern Canada and requires the government to use competing airlines as equally as possible where the services offered meet the Yukon government's travel needs.

The policy also allows the government to temporarily stop doing business with any airline acting to drive competing carriers out of the local marketplace.

The government spends about \$3 million a year on air travel.

Contact: Ken MacGillivray Cabinet Communications Advisor (867) 667-8905 <u>ken.macgillivray@gov.yk.ca</u> -30-

Janet Patterson Infrastructure Communications (867) 667-7193 janet.patterson@gov.yk.ca