# **CISC NTWG**

### August 15, 2006

## TRANSMITTED ELECTRONICALLY

Mr. Leonard Katz Executive Director of Telecommunications & Broadcasting Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission 1 Promenade du Portage Ottawa, ON K1A 0N2

#### Subject: Telecom Decision CRTC 2006-28: Roll-Out Schedule for Exchanges that Do Not currently Support Portability

Dear Mr. Katz,

In Telecom Decision CRTC 2006-28 (May 18, 2006), *Regulatory issues related to the implementation of wireless number portability – Follow-up to Public Notice <u>2006-3</u>, the Commission requested that the CISC NTWG prepare and file a roll-out schedule for exchanges that do not currently support portability. Paragraphs 30 and 31 in the Decision state:* 

- 30. As regards the suggestion to implement an initial roll-out schedule for WNP, the Commission considers that ILEC capacity could potentially be overloaded if WSPs required WNP in all the exchanges covered by their wireless networks. The Commission is of the view that a roll-out schedule for those exchanges that do not support number portability would be helpful to the ILECs (and CLECs) to plan their work activities.
- 31. The Commission considers that the most efficient way to proceed to develop a roll-out schedule for non-portable exchanges is for the CRTC Interconnection Steering Committee (CISC) Network Working Group (NTWG) to address this issue. The Commission requests CISC to file its roll-out schedule with the Commission within 90 days from the date of this Decision.

To address the request, the CISC NTWG chair Sam Yung of TELUS hosted a NTWG conference call on May 29, 2006 where the Sub-Working Group (SWG) was formed. Gerry Thompson of Rogers Wireless was confirmed as the chair of the SWG. Weekly conference calls were planned as well as four face-to-face meetings. All were attended by ILEC and WSP representatives as well as CRTC Staff.

Initially, the SWG sourced and shared existing documentation on ILEC exchanges, portable exchanges, LNP criteria, and other applicable LNP practices, such as RORE003B. The conference calls and meetings progressed through defining how to organize the roll-out schedule. It was convenient to have CRTC Staff attending the conference calls and meetings as numerous clarifications and guidance were sought

and obtained. Consensus-based methods were produced and the WSPs prepared prioritized lists of requested exchanges which the ILECs reviewed and replied with a modified schedule. The SWG continued to meet to review and comment on the schedules. Minutes will be preserved via the NTWG minute process.

The rollout schedules are contained in the attached Excel spreadsheets and are organized per ILEC and per NPA. Exchanges that have been requested by WSPs have "Network Ready" dates listed, which have been agreed to by SWG members. Exchanges scheduled will be made portable on or prior to the dates listed herein. In the event that any exchange dates need to be postponed, the SWG members have agreed to reconvene to discuss any proposed changes. Any SWG-agreed schedule changes will be submitted as a consensus report to the Commission for approval.

To address the issue of establishing a procedure for requesting exchanges to be made portable over and above those exchanges scheduled in this report, the SWG has recommended that the NTWG open a TIF which will be addressed during regular NTWG meetings. The NTWG will build on documents and established practices such as that in RORE003B.

I wish to thank the SWG members for their focussed hard work over the past eleven weeks amongst busy work and vacation times.

Please contact me at 416-935-5239 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Gerry Thompson Chair, NTWG LNP Rollout SWG Rogers Wireless Partnership 333 Bloor Street East Toronto, ON M4W 1G9 Tel. 416-935-5239 Fax 416-935-7719

c.c.: CISC NTWG CISC NTWG SWG Peter Lang, Chair BPWG David Farnes, CWTA PMO CISC Steering Committee Bill Mason, CRTC Staff James Ndirangu, CRTC Staff

Attached: SWG members, Rollout Schedules

# LNP Rollout Schedule – NTWG SWG Members

Aliant: Tom Bateman, Don LeBlanc
CNA: Glenn Pilley, Suresh Khare, Fiona Clegg
CWTA: David Farnes, Keith McIntosh
CWTA PMO: David Craig
Bell Canada: Laurie Ackland, Doug Kwong, Khai Nguyen, Joe Rinaldi, Normand Clermont
Bell Nordiq: Ernie Harman
MTS Allstream: Henry Yabar, Stephen Lau, James Robinson
Rogers: Joel Thorp, Gerry Thompson (chair), Peter Lang
Sasktel: Kevin Florence, Lori Fluter, Andrew McKay, Stan Rowe; Ed Loziuk
Shaw: David McKeown (View Communications)
Telus: Sam Yung, Rob Sired, George Hearn, Ofir Smadja, Catherine Blair
CRTC: Bill Mason, James Ndirangu