## Manitoba

## **Premier's Economic Advisory Council (PEAC)**

## Introduction

The Premier's Economic Advisory Council (PEAC) is a broad-based 35-member council that provides continuing advice to the Manitoba Premier on a wide range of provincial economic priorities. The Council, whose members are invited to serve on the Council by the Premier, includes business, labour, education, community, and Aboriginal leaders. Council members serve as volunteers.

The Council is the outgrowth of the spring 2000, Manitoba Century Summit – the first forum of its kind in over 15 years. The Summit brought together a cross-section of more than 100 Manitobans to discuss strategies for expanding economic and social opportunities. Focussing on developing strategic partnerships for economic growth, the key Summit themes were labour force development, attraction and retention of investment, and promoting leading edge industries in areas such as biotechnology, information technology, and advanced manufacturing.

Following the Summit, the Premier invited 34 prominent Manitobans to form the Premier's Economic Advisory Council, which was launched in November 2001. The Council is currently co-chaired by Bob Silver (President of Western Glove) and Robert Ziegler (President of United Food and Commercial Workers, Local 832).

To facilitate wide-ranging and candid discussion, the Council is not limited by terms of reference and holds informal meetings designed to develop consensus on issues. PEAC meets three to four times a year as a full council. In addition, PEAC has established Task Groups, made up of members from PEAC and additional volunteers from the broader community to consider specific issues. The Task Groups report to PEAC, which considers their reports and, based on its review of the Task Group reports, makes recommendations to the Premier.

The initial set of recommendations from PEAC to the Premier formed the basis for Manitoba's economic strategy entitled *Manitoba's Action Strategy for Economic Growth*. Recommendations have also been incorporated in Throne Speeches and Budgets.

**Premier's Economic Advisory Council** 

Co-Chairs

Bob Silver. President. Western Glove

Robert Ziegler, President UFCW Local 832

## Other Representatives

Jim August, CEO, Forks North Portage Development Corporation

Lea Baturin, Communications, Electrical, and Paperworkers Union

Daniel Paul Bork, Clarence Cook Consulting, Vice-Chair, Manitoba Chamber of

Commerce, Aboriginal Chamber of Commerce

Jamie Brown, CEO, Frantic Films

Anita Campbell, Director of Mamowwetak Friendship Centre, Thompson

David Chartrand, President, Manitoba Métis Federation

Janice Chase, Service Employees International Union Local #308

Jerry Cianflone, Owner, International Pizza System

Elaine Cowan, CEO, Anokiiwin Group, former President, Aboriginal Business Leaders

Polly Craik, CEO, FineLine Integrated Response Solutions

Rob Despins, Director, General Manager, Standard Aero Corporate University, Past

Chair, Manitoba Division, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters

Sylvia Farley, Executive Coordinator, Manitoba Federation of Labour

Albert Friesen, President, Genesis Venture Inc.

Richard Frost, CEO, Winnipeg Foundation

Leonard E. Harapiak, Retired, former Director, South Winnipeg Technical Institute

Joanne C. Keselman, Vice-president, Research, University of Manitoba

Doug Lauvstad, Executive Director, University of College of the North, The Pas Campus

Michael Leech, President, Leech Printing Ltd., Brandon

Chuck Loewen, President and CEO, Online Business Systems

Florfina Marcelino, Publisher/Editor, Philippine Times

Irene Merie, Past Chair of the Board, Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce and President,

Merie and Associates

Allan McLeod, CEO, Tribal Council Investments Group

Ashish Modha, President and CEO, Mondetta Clothing Company

Mariette Mulaire, Executive Director, Economic Development Council for Manitoba

Bilingual Municipalities-CEDM

Marcel Moody, Co-Manager, Nisichawaysihk Cree Nation, Nelson House

Judy Murphy, COO, Royal Winnipeg Ballet

Teri Nicholson, Economic Development Officer, Shoal Lake Regional Development

Community Corporation, Shoal Lake

Roslyn Nugent, President, Bayridge Lumber and Forest Products

Dale Paterson, Area Director, Canadian Auto Workers Union

Harvey Secter, Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba

Ian Smith, Director General, National Research Council, Institute for Bio-Diagnostics

Kevin Strong, Manager, TSX Venture Exchange

Dave Turpie, Property Manager, City Centre Mall, Thompson