MEAAC Council Members:

Mr. Graham Buckingham Ms. Marla Braga Ms. Linda Casar Ms. Patsy Grant Dr. Madhu Gupta Mr. George Penner Mr. Abdoulaye Ndiaye Mr. John Jack Ms. Christina Semaniuk Mr. Daniel Negussie Mr. Glenn McIvor Dr. KC Asagwara Mrs. Zofia de Witt Dr. Ezzat Ibrahim Dr. Romulo Magsino Ms. Beatrice Watson Ms. Carmen Infante Ms. Rose Tilbrook Ms. Alice Fan Ms. Marusia Foster

We're on the web!

Website: www.gov.mb.ca/labour/immigrate/multiculturalism/5.html

Contact Information:

Manitoba Ethnocultural Advisory & Advocacy Council

Manitoba Labour & Immigration Multiculturalism Secretariat 4th Floor - 213 Notre Dame Ave. Winnipeg, MB R3B 1N3

Phone: 945-2339 in Winnipeg Toll Free: 1- 800 - 665-8332 Fax: 204 - 948-2323

Email: meaac@gov.mb.ca



Manitoba Ethnocultural Advisory and Advocacy Council (MEAAC)

Advising the Minister Responsible for Multiculturalism on Ethnocultural Matters

Advocating on Behalf of Ethnocultural Communities in Manitoba

MANITOBA ETHNOCULTURAL ADVISORY & Advocacy Council Act

The *Manitoba Ethnocultural Advisory and Advocacy Act* was enacted on July 6, 2001 to establish a multicultural advisory council.

ROLE & MANDATE OF COUNCIL

The role of the Manitoba Ethnocultural Advisory and Advocacy Council is to advise government on issues important to the ethnocultural community. The mandate of the council is to advocate on behalf of Manitoba's ethnocultural community and provide information, advice and recommendations to government, through the minister, on all ethnocultural matters in the province. This includes, but is not restricted to, antiracism, education, human rights, immigration, settlement, cultural linguistic diversity and heritage.

Following election and nomination processes, council members were elected and appointed in November 2001. Subsequent elections and appointments occur every three years.

The council consists of up to 21 members — 16 members elected by Manitoba ethnocultural organizations and five appointed by government. The term of a member is three years and no member may serve more than two successive terms.

COUNCIL & STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS The council meets at least six times a year and all standing committees meet on a regular basis. The council also meets with the minister once every six months.

STANDING COMMITTEES

Council initiated six standing committees and encourages representation on these committees from members of the ethnocultural community. The standing committees examine issues raised by government or ethnocultural communities and recommend action in the following areas:

Antiracism - examine issues about human rights, race relations, diversity, equity and discrimination.

Cultural and Linguistic Diversity - recommend responses on cultural and linguistic diversity matters and heritage language issues within ethnocultural communities.

Education - consider education policy, programs and position papers and advise government about education issues.

Immigration & Employment - consider issues about immigration and employment and advise the minister about these issues — work collaboratively with the Manitoba Immigration Council on policy development and issue response.

Outreach - help organize council's annual open house help develop information about ethnocultural policies for Manitobans — work with council and its standing committees to support and organize outreach activities.

Youth - listen to issues and priorities of youth — encourage youth's participation in their respective ethnocultural communities and the wider community.



Back Row: Mr. G. Buckingham, Ms. M. Braga, Ms. L. Casar, Ms. P. Grant, Dr. M. Gupta, Mr. G. Penner, Mr. A. Ndiaye, Mr J. Jack, Ms. C. Semaniuk, Mr. D. Negussie, Mr. G. McIvor Front Row: Dr. KC Asagwara, Mrs. Z. de Witt, Minister Nancy Allan, Dr. E. Ibrahim, Dr. R. Magsino, Ms. B. Watson, Ms. C. Infante, Ms. R. Tilbrook Missing from photo: Ms. A. Fan, Ms. M. Foster