Nova Scotia Council Elections

October 16, 2004

Regional Municipalities	Offices to Be Elected	How Elected
Cape Breton Regional Municipality	Mayor 16 Councillors	At large 1 per Polling District (16 Districts)
Halifax Regional Municipality	Mayor 23 Councillors	At large 1 per Polling District (23 Districts)
Region of Queens Municipality	Mayor 9 Councillors	At large 1 per Polling District (9 Districts)

Towns	Offices to Be Elected	How Elected
Amherst	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Annapolis Royal	Mayor 5 Councillors	At large At large
Antigonish	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Berwick	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Bridgetown	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Bridgewater	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Canso	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Clark's Harbour	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Digby	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large

Hantsport	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Kentville	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Lockeport	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large
Lunenburg	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Mahone Bay	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Middleton	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Mulgrave	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large
New Glasgow	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large 2 per ward (3 wards)
Oxford	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Parrsboro	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large
Pictou	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large 2 per ward (2 wards)
Port Hawkesbury	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large
Shelburne	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Springhill	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Stellarton	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large 2 per ward (3 wards)
Stewiacke	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Trenton	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large

Truro	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large 2 per ward (3 wards)
Westville	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large 2 per ward (2 wards)
Windsor	Mayor 4 Councillors	At large At large
Wolfville	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large
Yarmouth	Mayor 6 Councillors	At large At large

Municipalities of Counties or Districts	Offices to Be Elected*	How Elected
Annapolis	11 Councillors	1 per Polling District (11 Districts)
Antigonish	10 Councillors	1 per Polling District (10 Districts)
Argyle	9 Councillors	1 per Polling District (9 Districts)
Barrington	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)
Chester	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)
Clare	8 Councillors	1 per Polling District (8 Districts)
Colchester	Mayor 11 Councillors	At large 1 per Polling District (11 Districts)
Cumberland	10 Councillors	1 per Polling District (10 Districts)
Digby	5 Councillors	1 per Polling District (5 Districts)
Guysborough	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)
Hants East	12 Councillors	1 per Polling District (12 Districts)
Hants West	9 Councillors	1 per Polling District (9 Districts)
Inverness	6 Councillors	1 per Polling District (6 Districts)
Kings	11 Councillors	1 per Polling District (11 Districts)
Lunenburg	13 Councillors	1 per Polling District (13 Districts)

Pictou	14 Councillors	1 per Polling District (14 Districts)
Richmond	10 Councillors	1 per Polling District (10 Districts)
St. Mary's	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)
Shelburne	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)
Victoria	8 Councillors	1 per Polling District (8 Districts)
Yarmouth	7 Councillors	1 per Polling District (7 Districts)

^{*} The head of council in a municipality without a mayoralty system is called a Warden. The Warden is elected by the councillors themselves, from among the councillors who are elected at the regular election.