ALBERTA LAW ENFORCEMENT REVIEW BOARD

BOARD MEMBER PROFILES

Donna L. Shelley, Q.C. has extensive experience in administrative law and adjudication, having served as a member of various quasi-judicial tribunals since 1990. As a former member of the Edmonton Court of Revision and the Municipal Government Board of Alberta, Ms. Shelley adjudicated many appeals related to property assessment and planning matters under the *Municipal Government Act*. As a former member of the Citizen's Appeal Panels, she heard appeals under the *Social Development Act*, the *Assured Income for Severely Handicapped Act* and the *Seniors' Benefit Act*. Ms. Shelley was a sessional lecturer at the University of Alberta and, from 1994 to 2004, was an instructor in the Bar Admission courses for the Legal Education Society of Alberta. She has presented papers at, chaired panels of, or made presentations to a variety of organizations and conferences, including the Law Society of Alberta, the Canadian Bar Association and the Canadian Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement (CACOLE). Ms. Shelley is actively involved in a number of charitable and community organizations, including the Rotary Club of Edmonton and its Foundation. She is a member of several organizations and serves on the Boards of three of them, including CACOLE. In 2005 Ms. Shelley was awarded the Alberta Centennial Medal.

Wayne Jacques, CA, served as MLA for Grande Prairie-Wapiti during 1993 to 2001. During that time, his service included: MLA Committee reviewing the *Police Act*, Steering Committee developing Policing Standards for Municipal Police Forces, first private member to serve on Treasury Board and Chair of Standing Policy Committee for Financial Planning and Human Resources. Prior to his election as an MLA, Mr. Jacques was involved in the forest products industry for 27 years, including eight years as Vice President responsible for the Alberta Operations of the Canfor Corporation. Mr. Jacques currently serves on the Boards of the Peace Country Health Authority and the Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council as well as the Alberta Transportation Safety Board. Mr. Jacques has been actively involved in his community including Alderman for the City of Grande Prairie, Vice President of the Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce, Board member of the Grande Prairie College Foundation and Director of the Grande Prairie Rotary Club.

Kathy Grieve has diverse experience in public policy, governance and business. She is currently on the Advisory Committee on Judicial Appointments and sits on the boards of the University of Alberta Hospital Foundation and Invest in Kids, a national organization. Her past board experience included the Bent Arrow Aboriginal Healing Society and the University of Alberta's Business Family Institute (Faculty of Business). Ms. Grieve was also member of the Edmonton Police Commission for four years, with her last two years as Chair of the Commission. Ms. Grieve was also co-chair on the Commission's 1999 Task Force on Prostitution. Prior to that Ms. Grieve served as the President of the Edmonton YWCA, following three years as a board member. Ms. Grieve began her career as a teacher and has since worked in career development, communications consulting and research.

Patricia Mackenzie of Edmonton recently retired from Telus Corporation as Assistant Vice President, Environment. She served three terms as an Edmonton city councillor for Ward 5 and served on all standing committees of city council. She was a former president of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association and served on the Federal of Canadian Municipalities as a director and chair of several federation committees. Ms. Mackenzie also served as chair of the Alberta Commission on Learning.

Joanne Taylor of the Calgary area was chair of the board of directors of the Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton. She was also secretary to the Law Enforcement Review Board and a former executive director and registrar of appeals for the Alberta Environmental Appeal Board. Ms. Taylor is a board member of the Alberta Adolescent Recovery Centre, the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals, the Arbitration and Mediation Society of Alberta and the Alberta Easter Seals. Ms. Taylor is currently a councillor with the Kananaskis Improvement District.

Linda Black graduated from the University of Ottawa with a Masters of Law. After finishing her graduate work in law, Ms. Black's career centered on the public sector. She held increasingly responsible roles in the Newfoundland provincial government, ultimately serving at the level of Assistant Deputy Minister. In 1994, Ms. Black moved to Alberta where she worked for the University of Calgary in the role of General Counsel. Her primary responsibilities were to establish and oversee the legal services at the University. Ms. Black is on the Board of Governors of the Strathcona-Tweedsmuir School and the chair of numerous committees, namely: the School's Human Resources Committee, the Implementation Committee respecting recommendations from the "Cloutier Report on Outdoor Education" and the Selection Committee for a new Head of School. She is also a public member on the Board of Directors of the Certified Management Accountants of Alberta. Ms. Black was a past member and secretary of the Newfoundland Law Reform Commission and past member of the Newfoundland and Labrador Panel of Arbitrators.

Joseph (Archie) Arcand spent 30 years experience with Alberta Family and Social Services. During that time, he was the provincial representative during negotiations for a tri-partite agreement between the federal and provincial governments and Band Councils in northern Alberta for the delivery of services to band members. Mr. Arcand has also served in numerous capacities on school, recreation and Native Friendship boards.

Sam Goresht is an active volunteer in the community and has served on a number of boards including the Ronald McDonald House, Association of the Brain Injured, Canadian Association of Police Boards and the Calgary Police Commission. He is currently a University of Calgary Senator and was a community representative on the U of C's Faculty of Medicine, Medicine Education Committee.