# The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year®Awards

# A Brief Background



### History

The Entrepreneur of the Year Program is a global phenomenon. Developed by Ernst & Young in 1986 and introduced in Canada in 1994, the program today runs in over 32 countries and 100 cities around the world.

The Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards honour extraordinary men and women whose ingenuity, hard work and perseverance have created and sustained successful, growing business ventures. Their hard-earned success has made a positive difference in their communities and around the world.

The highlight of the year is the series of regional award gala banquets in the fall, where each finalist is honoured with a multimedia show highlighting their company's history and successes. Category awards are presented and a regional Entrepreneur Of The Year is selected from among the category recipients.

The year-long program culminates each November with the national awards ceremony in Ottawa, where Canada's Entrepreneur Of The Year is announced. The national recipient goes on to represent Canada at the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards in Monaco in May of the following year.

This prestigious program is truly the World's Business Award.

#### A Who's Who of Canadian Business

The Entrepreneur Of The Year Program is well known for identifying growing entrepreneurial businesses before they become household names.

#### **Canada's Entrepreneur Of The Year Recipients**

- 1994 **Daniel Langlois**, Softimage Inc.
- 1995 Vic De Zen, Royal Plastics Group Limited
- 1996 Rod McPike, Propak Systems Ltd.
- 1997 **Klaus Woerner**, ATS Automation Tooling Systems Inc.
- 1998 Kwok Yuen Ho, ATI Technologies Inc.
- 1999 Ronald Joyce, The TDL Group Ltd.
- 2000 Clive Beddoe, Mark Hill, Don Bell, Tim Morgan, WestJet Airlines Ltd.
- 2001 Kenneth Field, Commercial Alcohols Inc.
- 2002 David Robson, Veritas (DGC) Inc.
- 2003 **Donald Triggs**, Vincor International Inc.
- 2004 William (Bill) Comrie, The Brick Warehouse Corporation

#### How it Works

To qualify for an Entrepreneur Of The Year Award, a nominee must be either a business owner or founder primarily responsible for the recent performance of a privately held company that is at least two years old, or the founder of a public company and still active in the company's top management.

Independent judging panels in each region select the regional finalists and award recipients in several categories. The award categories are determined every year based on the nature of the nominated companies. They often include the following:

#### **Industry Categories**

- > Business-to-Business Products and Services
- > Business-to-Consumer Products and Services
- > Energy (Natural Resources, Chemicals, Services)
- > Health Sciences (Life Sciences, Biotechnology, Pharmaceuticals)
- > Hospitality/Tourism
- > Information Technology (Software, E-Business, Security)
- > Manufacturing
- > Media and Entertainment (Publishing, Advertising, Production)
- > Professional/Financial Services
- > Real Estate/Construction
- > Technology and Communications (Telecom, Semiconductors, Infrastructure)

#### **Specialty Categories**

- > Emerging Entrepreneur (Company is less than five years old)
- > Turnaround Entrepreneur (In five years or less, has made a financially troubled company profitable)
- > Young Entrepreneur (Age 30 or under)

# Profile of the Average Award Recipient

The following are the average statistics of the 2004 award recipients across Canada:

Average Number of Employees 661

Average Sales \$135 million

Average Income Before Taxes \$29 million

Annual Percentage of Growth 47%

## World Entrepreneur of the Year Award

The 2004 national Entrepreneur Of The Year Award recipients from around the world will gather in Monte Carlo for the fifth annual World Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards in May 2005. They will all be inducted into the Entrepreneur Of The Year World Academy. Following the induction ceremony, the World Entrepreneur Of The Year will be announced.

International programs are or will soon be hosted in Argentina, Australia, Baltic States, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Middle East, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, and Zimbabwe.

