• This is a mandatory field for Artefacts Canada and for the Info-Muse database.
• It is suggested that a compound number be used, consisting of groups of numbers separated from one another by periods. Indicate 1) the year; 2) where applicable, the lot number; 3) the unit number and 4) where applicable, the component parts.
• If your institution is already using an accession number assignment system that meets your needs, it is better to keep it than to re-number all the collections.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 2-5) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• Enter the name of the discipline for research into the object.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 7) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tool such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³.

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Sub-category field.
• Use a single classification system for all your collections.
• Enter the full category name, with due regard to the spelling prescribed by the list of categories in the classification systems.
• This field may contain no more than two entries. List the category that you feel is the most important for research first.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 8-9) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a classification system such as those developed by Réseau Info-Muse ⁴, the Canadian Parks Service ⁷ or Blackaby ⁶.

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Category field.
• Use a single classification system for all your collections.
• Enter the full category name, with due regard to the spelling prescribed by the list of categories in the classification systems.
• This field may contain no more than two entries. The order in which data are entered should be the same as in the Category field.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 10-11) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a classification system such as those developed by Réseau Info-Muse ⁴, the Canadian Parks Service ⁷ or Blackaby ⁶.

• This is a mandatory field for Artefacts Canada and the Info-Muse database.
• Enter the object name in the singular.
• When the le object name consists of several terms that are required to identify the object, enter it in this field
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 12-13) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³, the Canadian Parks Service ⁵ document, Blackaby's Nomenclature ⁶ and the Parks Canada visual dictionary ⁷ .

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Object name field.
• If you enter an adjective in this field, it must agree with the gender of the name entered in the Object name field (in French).

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 14-15) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a standardized vocabulary.

Alternate Object Names (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Object name field.
• If you enter an adjective in this field, it must agree with the gender of the name entered in the Object name field (in French).

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 16) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a standardized vocabulary.

Brand Name (CHIN)

• Enter the trade mark name in full, being careful to follow the spelling and usage for capitalization as registered by the manufacturer.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 17-18) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Canadian Trade-marks Database⁸.

Model Name/Number (CHIN)

• Enter the model name or number completely, as indicated by the manufacturer, with due regard to the original spelling.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 19-20) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• Enter the full serial number, with due regard to the original punctuation and spelling.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 21) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This is a mandatory field for the Info-Muse database.
• Enter a whole number.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 22) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Number of Components field.
• Enter the name of each of the components in this field. If several components have the same name, write it in the singular even if there is more than one, along with a space and the number in brackets.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 23-24) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a standardized vocabulary.

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Component Part Names field.
• Enter a whole number.
• This field is not used if there are no component parts.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 25) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• When you want to indicate that an object is part of a set, simply enter the accession number of the first and last object in the group. Enter the first accession number, a space, "to", and the final accession number.
• When you wish to indicate another type of link, write in the type of link and the accession numbers of the associated objects.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 26-27) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Artist/Maker/Designer (CHIN)

• Enter the family name followed by a comma, a space and the first name.
• Any initials are to be followed by a period.
• Periods and commas must be followed by a space, unless they are followed by another punctuation mark.
• If the artist has a title, enter the name, a comma, a space, the first name, another comma, a space and then the title.
• When it is not clear who the author of the work is, and it has been attributed to an artist, enter the name of the artist, a space and stated "attributed to".
• This field contains more than one name only when it was a collective work.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 30-32) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the CHIN Artists in Canada ⁹ and the Getty Union List of Artist Names ¹⁰.

Artist Other Names (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Artist/makerfield.
• Enter the family name followed by a comma, a space and the first name.
• Any initials are to be followed by a period.
• Periods and commas must be followed by a space.
• If the artist has a title, enter son nom, a comma, a space, the first name, a comma, a space and then the title.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 33-34) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the CHIN Artists in Canada ⁹ and the Getty Union List of Artist Names ¹⁰.

Other Artist (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Artist/Maker field.
• Enter the family name followed by a comma, a space and the first name.
• Any initials are to be followed by a period.
• Periods and commas must be followed by a space, except when followed by another punctuation mark.
• If the artist has a title, enter the name, a comma, a space, the first name, a comma, a space and then the title.
• Enter the name under which the other artist or maker is best known. If you want to enter two names for the same person, begin with the name under which the artist is best known in accordance with the entry rules and the other name in brackets without inverting the first and last names.
• Enter the name of the organization or company, without inverting the names. Do not use acronyms.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 35-36) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the CHIN Artists in Canada ⁹ and the Getty Union List of Artist Names ¹⁰.

Other Artist Role (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Other Artist Role field.
• This field may contain several entries. List the entries in order of importance and match each entry with the entry in the Other Artist/Maker field.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 37) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• Enter the full title; do not use any abbreviations.
• Do not underline the title or place it in quotation marks, unless these are part of the title. Follow the original spelling of the title.
• If the object is not a fine arts collection and no title has been assigned to it, do not enter anything in this field.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 38-40) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Title field.
• Enter the variant of the title in full; do not use any abbreviations.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 41) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• Enter the name of the organization or the company, without inverting any of the names.
• Enter the name of the company as it was officially used at the time the object was made. Use an acronym if that is how the company was best known, and give the full name in brackets.
• If there are several entries, the names should be given in order of importance.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 42-43) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the fields Manufacturer Province and Manufacturer City.
• Enter the name of the country in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the manufacturer country has changed, begin by entering the current name, followed by a comma and a space, and then the name that was in use at the time the object was manufactured.
• This field may contain several separate entries. They should match the entries in the Manufacturer field.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 44-45) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹ or The World Factbook of the CIA ¹².

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the fields Manufacturer Province and Manufacturer City.
• Enter the name of the country in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the manufacturer province has changed, enter the current name, followed by a comma and a space, and then the name that was in use when the object was manufactured.
• This field may contain several separate entries. These must match the entries for the Manufacturer field.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 46-47) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools like the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹, the Atlas of Canada and the Geographical Names Board ¹³ of Canada ¹⁴ .

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Manufacturer Country and Manufacturer Province fields.
• Enter the name of the city, town or municipality in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the manufacturer city name has changed, begin by entering the current name followed by a comma and a space, and then the name that was used at the time that the object was manufactured.
• This field may contain several separate entries. They should match the entries in the Manufacturer field.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 48-49) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools like the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹, the Atlas of Canada and the Geographical Names Board ¹³ of Canada ¹⁴ and the Commission de toponymie du Québec ¹⁵.

Patent/Copyright Numbers (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Patent Date and Patent Country fields.
• Enter the patent number in full with proper punctuation.
• This field may contain several entries. They must be entered in the order that they are listed on the manufacturer name plate.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 50-51) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools like the Canadian Patents Database ¹⁶ and the United States Patent and Trademark Office ¹⁷ .

Patent/Copyright Dates (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Patent Number and Patent Country fields.
• Enter the patent year in the form YYYY (Y = "year"). If the month and day of patent registration are known, enter them in the form YYYY space MM space DD, using numbers only (Y = "year", M = "month", D = "day").
• This field may contain several entries. They should be entered in the order in which they appear on the maker's nameplate and match the entries in the Patent Number field.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 52-53) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools like the Canadian Patents Database ¹⁶ and the United States Patent and Trademark Office ¹⁷ .

Patent/Copyright Country

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Patent Number and Patent Date fields.
• Enter the country name in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the patent country has changed, enter the current name first, followed by a comma and a space, and then the name used at the time the patent was awarded.
• This field may contain several entries. They should be listed in the order given on the manufacturer nameplate and match the entries in the Patent Number field.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 54-55) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹ and The World Factbook of the CIA ¹².

Date of Object, from (CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Date of Object, to field.
• Enter the year of the date of object, to in the form YYYY (Y = "year"). If the month and day of the date of object from are known, enter the information in the form YYYY space MM space DD, using numbers only (Y = "year", M = "month", D = "day").
• The letter "c" (for circa) is used when the object was produced within a ten-year period, i.e. within five years before or five years after the date indicated. Enter the date, followed by a space and the letter "c" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "po" (for "posterior to") is used when the object may have been made no earlier than the date indicated, or later. Enter the date, a space and the abbreviation "po" in lower case.
• Dates that are B.C. (Before Christ) are to be indicating by using the minus sign "-" and the year.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 56-58) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹ and The World Factbook of the CIA ¹².

Date of Object To

• If one production date is known, enter it in this field.
• Enter the year of the date of object, to in the form YYYY (Y = "year"). If the month and day of the date of object from are known, enter the information in the form YYYY space MM space DD, using numbers only (Y = "year", M = "month", D = "day").
• The letter "c" (for circa) is used when the object was produced within a ten-year period, i.e. within five years before or five years after the date indicated. Enter the date, followed by a space and the letter "c" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "an" (for "anterior to") is used when the object might have been produced no later than the date indicated, or perhaps before. Enter the date, followed by a space and the abbreviation "an" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "po" (for "posterior to") is used when the object may have been made no earlier than the date indicated, or later. Enter the date, a space and the abbreviation "po" in lower case.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 59-61) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Date of object, from and Date of object, to fields.
• If you used this field to enter non-numerical chronological data, enter the keyword describing the production period for the object.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up a list of authorities to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 62-63) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus ³.

(Not used by CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Minimum Unit of Measurement and Maximum Unit of Measurement fields.
• Use official symbols from the International System of Units.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up a list of authorities to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 64)

(Not used by CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit of Measurement and Maximum Unit of Measurement fields.
• Enter the minimum unit of measurement in real numbers.
• If the value is negative, place the minus sign  ( " - " )  in front of it.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 65)

(Not used by CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit of Measurement and Minimum Unit of Measurement fields.
• Enter la maximum unit of measurement in real numbers.
• If the value is negative, place a minus sign ("-".) in front of it.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 66)

• This field must be usedin conjunction with the dimension fields.
• Use a single unit of linear measurement per object.
• Use the official abbreviations for metric units (mm, cm, m, km).

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 67) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single measurement, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 68, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 69, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 70, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 71-72, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 74, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 75, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-linear field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 76, 451-468) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Unit Weight (CHIN)

Observations

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Weight field.
• Use official abbreviations for metric units for mass (mg, g, kg)

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 82) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Unit-Mass field.
• Enter a single dimension, expressed in real numbers.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 83) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³ and Calum Ewing's document ¹⁸ .

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Technique field.
• Enter a generic term, followed by a comma, a space and a specific term.
• When the same generic term is used by two specific terms, repeat the generic term in front of each specific term. Separate entries with a semi-colon followed by a space.
• Enter the names of the materials from the most frequently used to the least frequently used.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 85-86) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³ and Calum Ewing's document ¹⁸ .

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Support field.
• Enter a generic term to designate the material, followed by a comma, a space and the specific term.
• The name of the medium is to be entered as a singular substantive.
• Enter the various media used from the most frequently used to the least frequently used.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 85-86) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³ and Calum Ewing's document ¹⁸ .

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Medium field.
• The name of the support should be entered in the singular substantive.
• If there is more than one support, list the various supports from the most frequently used to the least frequently used./
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 87-88) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³ and the document by Anne Bénichou ¹⁹ .

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Material field.
• Enter adjectives describing the techniques in decreasing order of importance. The order in which they are entered should be the same as for the Material field.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.
• You may specify in this field whether the object is manufactured or made by hand.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 91-92) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³ and the document by Anne Bénichou ¹⁸ .

• Begin by entering the location of the signature, followed by a space, a colon, another space and the description of the signature, following the original spelling.
• Enter adjectives describing the techniques in decreasing order of importance. The order in which they are entered should be the same as for the Material field.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 93-95) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Inscription (CHIN)

• Begin by entering the location of the inscription, followed by a space, a colon, another space and the description of the inscription, following the original spelling.
• When the inscription is not directly on the support, for example on a label, specify that this is the case after identifying the location and then record the description of the inscription.
• Enter a slash "/" for each line change in a given inscription.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 96-98) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Subject/Image (CHIN)

• Enter a keyword describing the image of the object.
• If there is more than one theme, enter the various keywords in decreasing order of importance, up to a maximum of three entries.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 99-100) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the controlled vocabulary recommended on page 99 of the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹, the Thesaurus Garnier ²⁰ and Iconclass ²¹ .

• Enter additional information about the physical description or image of the object that does not appear in other fields.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 105) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 106-107) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 91-92) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³.

(Not used at CHIN)

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 108).

(Not used by the Réseau Info-Muse)

Observations

• Enter comments, stories and contextual information about the object.

Recommendations

• Consult the CHIN Data Dictionary for the Humanities ².

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Origin-Province and Origin-Municipality fields.
• Enter the name of the country in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the country from which the object came has changed, enter its current name first, followed by a comma and a space and a space, and then its name at the time the object was produced.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 114-115) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ⁹ and The World Factbook of the CIA ¹⁰.

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Origin-country and Origin-city fields.
• Enter the full name of the province; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the province from which the object came has changed, enter its current name first, followed by a comma and a space, and then its name at the time the object was produced.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 116-117) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ⁹, the Atlas of Canada ¹¹ and the Geographical Names Board of Canada ¹².

Origin-Municipality (CHIN)

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Origin-country and Origin-province fields.
• Enter the name of the city, town or municipality in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the city of origin has changed, enter its current name first followed by a comma and a space, and then its name at the time the object was produced.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 118-119) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ⁹, the Atlas of Canada ¹¹, the Geographical Names Board of Canada Commission de toponymie du Canada ¹² and the Commission de toponymie du Québec ¹³.

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Use-province and Use-city fields.
• Enter the name of the country in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the country where the object was used has changed, enter its current name first, followed by a comma and a space, and then its name at the time the object was used.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 120-121) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ⁹, the Atlas of Canada ¹¹, the Geographical Names Board of Canada Commission de toponymie du Canada ¹²
.

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Use country and Use city fields.
• Enter the name of the province in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the province where the object was used has changed, enter the current name first, followed by a comma and a space, and its name at the time the object was produced.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 122-123) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹, the Atlas of Canada ¹³ and the Geographical Names Board of Canada ¹⁴.

Use-Municipality (CHIN)

• This field must be used hierarchically and in conjunction with the Use-country and Use-province fields.
• Enter the name of the city, town or municipality in full; do not use any abbreviations.
• If the name of the city in which the object was used has changed, enter its current name first, followed by a comma and a space, and then its name at the time the object was used.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 124-125) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ¹¹, the Atlas of Canada ¹³ and the Geographical Names Board of Canada ¹⁴ and the Commission de toponymie du Québec ¹⁵.

(Not used by CHIN)

• Enter the name of the organization or company without changing the word order.
• Enter the name of the company as it was used at the time the object was in service. Enter the acronym if this was the way the company was best known and put the full name in brackets after.
• The name of the person who used the object may also be entered in this field.
• This field may contain several entries. The list should begin with the most recent user.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 126-127).

(Not used by CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Termination date field.
• Enter the year of commencement in the form YYYY (Y = "year"). If the month and day service began are known, enter the date in the format YYYY space MM space DD, using numerics only (Y = "year", M = "month", D = "day").
• The letter "c" (for circa) is used when the object was produced within a ten-year period, i.e. within five years before or five years after the date indicated. Enter the date, followed by a space and the letter "c" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "an" (for "anterior to") is used when the object might have been produced no later than the date indicated, or perhaps before. Enter the date, followed by a space and the abbreviation "an" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "po" (for "posterior to") is used when the object may have been made no earlier than the date indicated, or later. Enter the date, a space and the abbreviation "po" in lower case.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 128-129).

(Not used by CHIN)

• This field must be used in conjunction with the Termination date field.
• Enter the year of commencement in the form YYYY (Y = "year"). If the month and day service began are known, enter the date in the format YYYY space MM space DD, using numerics only (Y = "year", M = "month", D = "day").
• The letter "c" (for circa) is used when the object was produced within a ten-year period, i.e. within five years before or five years after the date indicated. Enter the date, followed by a space and the letter "c" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "an" (for "anterior to") is used when the object might have been produced no later than the date indicated, or perhaps before. Enter the date, followed by a space and the abbreviation "an" in lower case.
• The abbreviation "po" (for "posterior to") is used when the object may have been made no earlier than the date indicated, or later. Enter the date, a space and the abbreviation "po" in lower case.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (pp. 128-129).

School/Style (CHIN)

• Enter the name of the art school or style of the object.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 132) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³.

• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 133-134) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use standardization tools such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ³.

• This field indicates the geographic area occupied by the group to whom the object belonged.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ¹ (p. 135) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².
• Use a standardized vocabulary.

(Not used by the Réseau Info-Muse)

• Enter the filename of the image thumbnail.
• Avoid a proliferation of terms by drawing up an authorities list to which keywords can be added as required.

Recommendations

• Consult the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

(Not used by the Réseau Info-Muse)

• Enter the filename of the image full size.

Recommendations

• Consult the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².

Copyright - Object (CHIN)

• Enter the exact text to be used as a reference to the object copyright holder.

Recommendations

• Consult the Réseau Info-Muse documentation guide ²² (p. 145) and the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary ².