# Media Backgrounder Information média



Ministry of Ministère de the Environment L'Environnement

Ministry of Agriculture, Ministère de l'Agriculture, de Food and Rural Affairs l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

February 17, 2006

## MEMBERS OF THE NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT SCIENCE-BASED STANDARDS COMMITTEE

#### Dr. K. Bruce MacDonald (Chair)

Dr. MacDonald is the director and principal consultant for K. Bruce MacDonald, Consulting. A former head of the Ontario Land Resource Unit and Canada Soil Information System and Land Evaluation Branch at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, he has spent his entire career working on activities related to environmentally sustainable land use and management. A former member of the Source Protection Technical Expert Committee, Dr. MacDonald has over 30 years of experience in research and analysis of agronomic practices and land resource management with university, industry, landowners, and federal, provincial and municipal government agencies.

#### **Bob Bedggood**

Mr. Bedggood operates a cash crop farm in London and has been the chair for the Agricultural Adaptation Council since 2003 and an executive member since 1999. He is also a member of the Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario, the Agricultural Policy Framework Advisory Committee on the Environment and the Odyssey Group and brings practical agricultural experience and government advisory committee experience to the group.

#### Dr. Peter Dillon

Dr. Dillon is a professor in the department of Environmental and Resource Studies at Trent University and is a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Industrial Research Chair in Watershed Biogeochemistry. He brings technical expertise in phosphorous modeling, in geochemical cycling of pollutants and in identifying stressors (including nutrients) on freshwater ecosystems to the committee.

#### **Greg Hannam**

Mr. Hannam is a producer of seed grain and is a Provincial Nutrient Management Advisory Committee member. An agricultural representative on the Premier's Agricultural task force and past Chair of AgCare (*Agricultural Groups Concerned About Resources and the Environment*), he provides industry insight and government advisory committee experience to the team.

#### Dr. David Rudolph

Dr. Rudolph is a professor in the department of Earth Sciences at the University of Waterloo. A former member of Source Protection Technical Expert committee and Provincial Nutrient Management Advisory Committee member, he brings comprehensive expertise in groundwater resource management and the protection of regional aquifers to the panel.

### **Tracey Ryan**

Ms. Ryan is supervisor of Conservation Services with the Grand River Conservation Authority. She has coordinated the development and delivery of the Rural Water Quality Program since its inception in 1997 and has vast experience providing assistance to farm families and rural landowners, helping them to protect and improve water quality on their properties.

-30-

#### Contacts:

Anne O'Hagan Christopher Flavelle Minister's Office Ministry of the Environment Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (416) 325-5809 (416) 326-3072

John Steele Charles Lalonde
Ministry of the Environment Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
(416) 314-6666 Environmental Policy and Programs Branch
(519) 826-3577

Disponible en français

www.ene.gov.on.ca - www.omafra.gov.on.ca