Backgrounder Document d'information

Ministry of the Environment Ministère de l'Environnement



April 21, 2006

GRANTS FOR SOURCE PROTECTION PLANNING IN AREAS NOT COVERED BY CONSERVATION AUTHORITIES

About 10 per cent of Ontario's population lives in areas not covered by a conservation authority. Most of these areas are in northern Ontario where watershed-wide planning is more difficult because of the diversity of local governance structures, a shortage of technical and financial resources and the size of the watersheds. The proposed Clean Water Act would allow a municipality (or cluster of municipalities) to enter into an agreement with the Minister of the Environment to develop a source protection plan that focuses on specific drinking water threats in specific areas.

A total of \$1.3 million in grants is going to 75 municipalities located outside conservation authority boundaries. The grants will allow those communities to pre-screen threats to municipal drinking water systems to determine where source protection plans may be required.

The grants based on \$10,000 for each municipal drinking water system include:

- \$180,000 to the Township of Tiny
- \$90,000 to the District Municipality of Muskoka
- \$50,000 each to the Municipality of Greenstone and Township of Tay
- \$30,000 each to the Township of Alfred and Plantagenet, Township of Galway-Cavendish and Harvey, Municipality of Red Lake, Township of Severn and the Township of White Water Region.

Eleven municipalities are each receiving \$20,000. Fifty-five municipalities are each receiving \$10,000.

\$20,000	
Township of Assiginack	Town of Penetanguishene
City of Dryden	Township of Ramara
Town of Espanola	Township of South Dundas
Township of Michipicoten	Town of Spanish
Township of the North Shore	Municipality of Temagami
City of Orillia	

Town of Arnprior	Municipality of Killarney
Township of Atikokan	Town of Kirkland Lake
Town of Bancroft	Town of Latchford
Township of Billings	Township of MacDonald, Meredith &
Town of Blind River	Aberdeen Add'l
Township of Bonnechere Valley	Municipality of Machin
Town of Bruce Mines	Township of Madawaska Valley
Village of Burk's Falls	Town of Marathon
Township of Chapleau	Municipality of Markstay-Warren
Municipality of Charlton and Dack	Township of Mattice-Val Cote
City of Clarence-Rockland	Town of Midland
Town of Cobalt	Township of Minden Hills
Town of Deep River	Township of Moonbeam
Township of Dubreuilville	Township of Nairn and Hyman
Township of Ear Falls	Township of Nipigon
Township of Edwardsburgh/Cardinal	Township of Opasatika
City of Elliot Lake	Town of Petawawa
Township of Emo	Town of Prescott
Township of Fauquier-Strickland	Township of Red Rock
Town of Fort Frances	Town of Renfrew
Town of Hearst	Township of Sables-Spanish River
Municipality of Highlands East	Town of Smooth Rock Falls
Village of Hilton Beach	Township of St. Joseph
Township of Ignace	Township of Tehkummah
Township of Johnston	Township of Terrace Bay
Town of Kapuskasing	Town of Thessalon
City of Kenora	Township of Val Rita-Harty
Township of Killaloe, Hagarty & Richards	Township of White River

-30-

Contacts: Anne O'Hagan Minister's Office (416) 325-5809

John Steele Ministry of the Environment (416) 314-6666

Disponible en français

www.ene.gov.on.ca