

ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 13, 2003

14 PEOPLE TO RECEIVE ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

VICTORIA – The province's highest award for outstanding achievement, the Order of British Columbia, will be presented to 14 people this year, Lt.-Gov. Iona Campagnolo announced today.

The recipients for 2003 are:

- Dr. Geoffrey Ballard of Vancouver, visionary in science and technology.
- Irving (Ike) Barber of Delta, benefactor and leader in the forest industry.
- Peter Brown of Vancouver, business and industry leader.
- Dr. Rose Charlie of Agassiz, First Nations worker.
- Debra L. Foxcroft of Port Alberni, aboriginal child welfare leader.
- James Hart of Vancouver, Haida artist and master carver.
- Edgar F. Kaiser Jr. of Vancouver, business leader and philanthropist.
- Trevor Linden of Vancouver, NHL hockey player and humanitarian.
- Roy Quock Quon Mah of Vancouver, Chinese newspaper founder.
- Harry McWatters of Summerland, founder of the first estate winery.
- P. K. Page of Victoria, writer, poet, artist and role model for younger artists.
- John W. (Jack) Poole of Vancouver, business leader.
- Dallas M. Richards of Vancouver, musician.
- Milton K. Wong of Vancouver, leader in business, research, culture and sports.

"The Order of British Columbia allows all of us to recognize our highest achievers and outstanding contributors to the strengthening of our province," said Campagnolo.

An independent advisory council chaired by British Columbia Chief Justice Lance Finch chose this year's recipients. The council also includes Claude Richmond, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; David Turpin, University of Victoria president; Patricia Wallace, president of the Union of B.C. Municipalities; Andrew Wilkinson, deputy minister of the Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; and two previous recipients of the order, Patsy George and Gian Singh Sandhu.

Awards will be presented in a ceremony at Government House on June 25. Since the Order of British Columbia was introduced in 1989, 189 people have received the honour. Information about these people is available at www.protocol.gov.bc.ca/ online.

-30-

1 backgrounder(s) attached.

Media contact: Sven Buemann Protocol and Events Officer Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat 250 387-1616