

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 20, 2004

14 PEOPLE TO RECEIVE ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

VICTORIA – The province's highest award for outstanding achievement, the Order of British Columbia, will be presented to 14 people this year, Lieutenant Governor Iona Campagnolo announced today.

The recipients for 2004 are:

- Dr. Richard James Beamish of Nanaimo, senior scientist at the Pacific Biological Station.
- Thomas R. Berger of Vancouver, long-time defender of human rights.
- George Bowering of Vancouver, novelist, editor and historian.
- Barbara Brink of Vancouver, driving force behind the creation of B.C.'s Science World.
- Dr. Frank Arthur Calder of Victoria, known for the Supreme Court's landmark decision on the Nisga'a Land Question.
- Leila Getz of Vancouver, founder and artistic director of the Vancouver Recital Society.
- Nancy Greene Raine of Sun Peaks, World and Olympic ski champion.
- Dr. Grace McCarthy of Vancouver, a former MLA and cabinet minister who established the C.H.I.L.D. Foundation, which raises funds for children with intestinal and liver disorders.
- Dr. Peter James Newbery of Hazelton, who helped create a support and training system used worldwide for rural doctors.
- Dr. Donald Rix of Burnaby, doctor, businessman and philanthropist.
- Balwant Sanghera of Richmond, educator, community activist and promoter of intercultural harmony.
- Dr. William L. Sauder of Vancouver, a philanthropist who supports medical research.
- Alfred J. Scow of Vancouver, Canada's first aboriginal judge.
- John Wilfred Turvey of Vancouver, advocate for children and youth, and founding member of the B.C. AIDS Network.

Campagnolo praised the outstanding British Columbians who will receive the Order on June 16, 2004, as "exemplars of excellence" who have strengthened this province in many differing and exceptional ways. "Our province welcomes each recipient to the distinction that their dedication merits as members of the Order of British Columbia."

-more-

As in all previous years, those receiving the Order of British Columbia are selected from extensive public nominations that are submitted to an independent advisory committee chaired by British Columbia Chief Justice Lance Finch. Committee members also include Claude Richmond, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Dr. Charles Jago, University of Northern British Columbia president; Frank Leonard, president of the Union of B.C. Municipalities; Athana Mentzelopoulos, deputy minister of the Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; and two previous recipients of the order, Debra Foxcroft and Dr. Milton Wong.

Awards will be presented at a ceremony at Government House on June 16 at 1 p.m. Since the Order of British Columbia was introduced in 1989, 203 people have received the honour. Information about these people is available at www.protocol.gov.bc.ca on the Internet.

-30-

1 backgrounder attached.

For further information contact:

Sven Buemann 250 387-1616