

## ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 18, 2006

## 13 PEOPLE TO RECEIVE ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

VICTORIA – Recipients of the Order of British Columbia for 2006 were announced today by Lieutenant Governor Iona Campagnolo. Her Honour praised the recipients as outstanding citizens of B.C. who have contributed to strengthening the province in a variety of exceptional ways.

"There is always a sense of expectation and exhilaration in the annual announcement of the names of those who have been selected from an overwhelming number of nominations to receive the Order of British Columbia," said Campagnolo. "The very highest acknowledgement of our province goes to those citizens who have made a significant difference in the lives of their fellow citizens, most often without being heralded or rewarded. The 2006 Order of British Columbia recipients all have distinguished records of service 'above self' and personify the rich diversity and strengths of our fortunate province."

This year's recipients are as follows:

- Beverley Ann Busson, C.O.M. of Vancouver, respected leader in Canadian policing.
- Dr. Wallace Bakfu Chung, C.M. of Vancouver, surgeon, educator, cultural historian and benefactor.
- Janet Nita Connolly of Atlin, passionate public health advocate.
- Thomas Anthony Dohm, C.M., Q.C. of Vancouver, long-serving legal professional and community leader.
- Dr. S. Larry Goldenberg of Vancouver, leading scientist and surgeon in prostate cancer research and treatment.
- Joy Kogawa, C.M. of Vancouver, internationally recognized author and poet.
- Chief Clarence Louie of Oliver, Aboriginal business leader.
- Wendy Burdon McDonald, C.M. of Burnaby, internationally recognized entrepreneur.
- Gerald A.B. McGavin, C.M. of Vancouver, respected business leader and philanthropist.
- Stephen John Nash of Victoria, world-class basketball player.
- Dr. Murray A. Newman, C.M., of West Vancouver, long-serving director of the Vancouver Public Aquarium.
- Chief Alver Tait of New Aiyansh, master carver and community leader.
- Dr. Erich W. Vogt, O.C. of Vancouver, top researcher and scientist in nuclear physics.

As in past years, recipients of the Order of British Columbia have been carefully selected from public nominations by an independent advisory committee, which met on May 3, 2006. The Advisory Council, chaired by British Columbia Chief Justice Lance Finch, also includes Bill Barisoff, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Dr. Michael Stevenson, Simon Fraser University president; J. Marvin Hunt, president of the Union of B.C. Municipalities; Virginia Greene, deputy minister of the Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; and two previous recipients of the Order, Dr. Edith McGeer and Dr. Perry Kendall.

The presentation of these awards will take place at a ceremony at Government House on June 22, 2006, at 1 p.m.

The Order of British Columbia is the province's highest honour for outstanding achievement. Since the Order was first introduced in 1989, 231 people have received the award. Information about the Order of British Columbia, and previous recipients, is available at <a href="https://www.protocol.gov.bc.ca">www.protocol.gov.bc.ca</a> on the internet.

-30-

1 backgrounder attached.

For further information contact:

Manjit Khaira Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat 250 387-1616