

SELECT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES

Victoria Monday, October 30, 2006

Chair:	* Blair Lekstrom (Peace River South L)
Deputy Chair:	* Bruce Ralston (Surrey-Whalley NDP)
	 * Iain Black (Port Moody-Westwood L) * Harry Bloy (Burquitlam L) * Randy Hawes (Maple Ridge-Mission L) * Dave S. Hayer (Surrey-Tynehead L) * Richard T. Lee (Burnaby North L) John Horgan (Malahat-Juan de Fuca NDP) * Jenny Wai Ching Kwan (Vancouver-Mount Pleasant NDP) * Bob Simpson (Cariboo North NDP)
	*denotes member present
Clerk:	Kate Ryan-Lloyd
Committee Staff:	Jonathan Fershau (Committee Research Analyst) Mary Storzer (Committee Researcher)

CONTENTS

Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services

Monday, October 30, 2006

Draft Committee Report	1013
------------------------	------

Page

MINUTES

SELECT STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND GOVERNMENT SERVICES



Monday, October 30, 2006 8:00 a.m. Douglas Fir Committee Room Parliament Buildings, Victoria

Present: Blair Lekstrom, MLA (Chair); Bruce Ralston, MLA (Deputy Chair); Iain Black, MLA; Harry Bloy, MLA; Randy Hawes, MLA; Dave S. Hayer, MLA; Richard T. Lee, MLA; Jenny Wai Ching Kwan, MLA; Bob Simpson, MLA

Unavoidably Absent: John Horgan, MLA

- **1.** The Chair called the meeting to order at 8:08 a.m.
- 2. Resolved, that the committee meet in-camera. (Dave Hayer, MLA)
- 3. The Committee met in-camera from 8:08 a.m. to 9:37 a.m.
- 4. Resolved, that the Committee resume its meeting in public session. (Harry Bloy, MLA)
- 5. The Committee adjourned at 9:38 a.m.

Blair Lekstrom, MLA Chair Kate Ryan-Lloyd Clerk Assistant and Committee Clerk

The committee met at 8:08 a.m.

[B. Lekstrom in the chair.]

Draft Committee Report

B. Lekstrom (Chair): Good morning, everyone. I would like to welcome everybody here on this beautiful morning. We are here today to begin deliberations on a draft report that we will submit no later than the 15th of November. As we develop the draft report, we do that in our in-camera session, so I would look for a motion to move in camera at this time.

The committee continued in camera from 8:08 a.m. to 9:37 a.m.

B. Lekstrom (Chair): Just to report out on what we have been discussing as a committee. It is really the development of our report, which must be submitted to the Legislative Assembly no later than the 15th of November. We are in the process of dealing with the body of the report as well as draft recommendations that this committee will endorse and put forward — again, by the 15th of November.

I want to thank the committee members for their work to this date. I want to thank our staff and research for the work that you've done in the tight time frames that we have.

With that, I would look for a motion to adjourn. We stand adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 9:38 a.m.

HANSARD SERVICES

Director Jo-Anne Kern

Manager of Print Production Robert Sutherland

Post-Production Team Leader Christine Fedoruk

Editorial Team Leaders Janet Brazier, Robyn Swanson, Antoinette Warren

> Senior Editor — Galleys Heather Bright

Technical Operations Officers Pamela Holmes, Emily Jacques, Dan Kerr

Indexers Shannon Ash, Laura Kotler, Julie McClung

Researchers Mike Beninger, Dylan Budd, Sandra Dyer, Sarah Towle

Editors

Laurel Bernard, Andrew Costa, Heather Gleboff, Margaret Gracie, Jane Grainger, Iris Gray, Linda Guy, Bill Hrick, Paula Lee, Elizabeth Levinson, Cristy McLennan, Marg MacQuarrie, Constance Maskery, Jill Milkert, Lind Miller, Lou Mitchell, Karol Morris, Dorothy Pearson, Erik Pedersen, Janet Pink, Melanie Platz, Robin Rohrmoser, Camilla Turner, Heather Warren, Arlene Wells, Tara Wells

Published by British Columbia Hansard Services and printed under the authority of the Speaker.

www.leg.bc.ca/cmt

Hansard Services publishes transcripts both in print and on the Internet. Chamber debates are broadcast on television and webcast on the Internet. Question Period podcasts are available on the Internet.