FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Canadian Securities Regulators Request New Members for Mining Technical Advisory and Monitoring Committee

February 11, 2005 - Toronto - The Canadian Securities Administrators' (CSA) is requesting new members to join the Mining Technical Advisory and Monitoring Committee (MTAMC).

The committee advises the CSA on a variety of industry and professional developments related to securities regulatory issues and serves as a forum for communication between the CSA and the mining industry.

The MTAMC is composed of approximately ten individual volunteers from across Canada drawn from different sectors of the mining industry, from early stage exploration to production. The MTAMC meets approximately four times a year, mostly in teleconference. Members of the MTAMC will serve two-year terms.

Members are expected to have extensive technical expertise and a strong interest in securities regulatory policy as it relates to the mining industry. As such, familiarity with the legislation and policies for which the CSA are responsible is helpful. Individual practitioners and representatives of small and large public mining companies, industry associations, consulting firms and other interested persons are invited to apply in writing for membership on the MTAMC, indicating their areas of practice and relevant experience. Interested parties should submit their application by March 1, 2005.

Applications and any queries regarding this CSA Notice may be forwarded to:

Deborah McCombe Chief Mining Consultant, Corporate Finance **Ontario Securities Commission** Telephone: (416) 593-8151 E-mail: dmccombe@osc.gov.on.ca

Greg Gosson Chief Mining Advisor, Corporate Finance British Columbia Securities Commission Telephone: (604) 899-6519 E-mail: ggosson@bcsc.bc.ca

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Eric Pelletier Ontario Securities Commission 416-595-8913

Joni Delaurier Alberta Securities Commission 403-297-4481

Philippe Roy L'Autorité des marchés financiers (514) 940-2176

Andrew Poon British Columbia Securities Commission 604-899-6880