

Members of the Board of Directors Carole Taylor, O.C. (1) Chair Vancouver, British Columbia

Robert Rabinovitch (2) President and CEO Ottawa, Ontario

John Kim Bell, O.C. (4) National Aboriginal Achievement Awards Toronto, Ontario Hélène Fortin (3) Hébert, Lussier & Associés Saint-Lambert, Québec

Marie Giguère Molson Inc. Montréal, Québec

Roy L. Heenan, O.C. (7) Heenan Blaikie Montréal, Québec Jane Heffelfinger, O.B.C., LL.D. (6) Actress/Broadcaster Victoria, British Columbia

Robert Lantos, C.M. Serendipity Point Films Toronto, Ontario (until January 22, 2004)

Clarence LeBreton (5) Assistant Deputy Minister Training and Employment Development, Government of New Brunswick Howard McNutt HM Consulting Inc. Halifax, Nova Scotia

L. Richard O'Hagan (8) Richard O'Hagan Associates Toronto, Ontario

James S. Palmer, C.M., Q.C. Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer Calgary, Alberta

## Best Practices Corporate Governance

Over the past few years, the Chair of the Board of Directors has worked at renewing the Board's relationships with senior management of the Corporation, the Government and external stakeholders generally. The Chair has been instrumental in ensuring that corporate governance practices for the Corporation are at the leading edge both in the private and public sectors. The following items are in place at the Corporation and have been reviewed, revised and compared with best practices of other corporations. Specific items reviewed include:

- > By-laws
- Terms of Reference for the Board and each of its Committees
- > Guidelines for Board and Committees
- > Conflict of Interest Guidelines
- > Guidelines for Independent Advice
- Board Manual
- > Criteria for CBC/Radio-Canada Director Selection

- Director Orientation
- > Assessing the Board's Performance
- > Evaluation of the CEO
- Succession Planning
- Guidelines for Board contacts with Senior Management
- > Board Communications with Stakeholders
- > Corporate Strategy and Annual Plan

