Maritime territory

Quebec's maritime territory begins at the eastern tip of Île d'Orléans and is divided into four sectors.

The St Lawrence sector extends from Anse à Gilles to Cap à l'Orignal (on the south shore) and from Cap Tourmente to Baie Sainte Catherine (on the north shore). The North Shore sector lies between Tadoussac and Blanc Sablon (including Anticosti Island). The Gaspé sector begins at Le Bic and stops at Matapédia. The fourth sector comprises the Magdalen Islands. For more details, refer to the map titled "Maritime Territory" on the facing page.

On another basis, the Québec Region maritime territory is subdivided into 28 statistical districts. These districts are defined by limits represented by geographic points and are used in most statistical systems. This standardization makes it possible to compare the data that DFO has been collecting in Quebec since 1984 with those published by the Bureau de la statistique du Québec for preceding years.

The 28 statistical districts, with their geographic limits, are listed in Appendix.

Maritime territory

Source: Quebec Statistics Department N.B. The districts description are in the appendix 1