# Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board President Elected to Sit on Prestigious International Committee

WHITEHORSE - Tony Armstrong, president and CEO of the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board, has been elected to the Executive Committee of the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC). Armstrong was elected to sit on the committee at the IAIABC's annual meeting, held earlier this October in Portland, Maine. Armstrong, who will sit in the position of "member at large," is the only Canadian serving on the committee.

In 2002, one of the top priorities of the IAIABC Executive Committee will be the creation of a special task force to recommend preparedness measures for dealing with catastrophic injury and loss of life. This will include such things as information systems back-ups, suspension of rules, and streamlining claims. The initiative was inspired by a presentation made by the chair of the New York Board, who described the devastation and confusion surrounding the attack of September 11.

Other activities of the IAIABC Executive Committee will be restoring fiscal solidity of the IAIABC, an examination of the dues and structures of the IAIABC, and the formation of a study committee that will look into the feasibility of creating an alternate impairment guide for workers' compensation.

The IAIABC was formed in 1914, with the goal of providing a forum to discuss interpretation and administration of the new workers' compensation laws and to adopt uniform practices and statistics in the application of these laws. The IAIABC Executive Committee is the governing body of the association and meets several times a year. The committee approves all management and policy direction, reviews all financial statements and transactions, and provides direction on programs

and use of staff resources. Members serve on a voluntary basis without compensation.

#### For Broadcast Use:

Tony Armstrong, president and CEO of the Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board, has been elected to the Executive Committee of the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions. Armstrong, who will sit in the position of "member at large," is the only Canadian serving on the committee. A top priority of the committee will be the creation of a special task force to recommend preparedness measures for dealing with catastrophic injury and loss of life. This will include such things as information systems back-ups, suspension of rules, and streamlining claims. The initiative was inspired by a presentation made by the chair of the New York Board, who described the devastation and confusion surrounding the attack of September 11.

For more information please contact:

Tina Sebert
Public Relations Liaison
Yukon Workers' Compensation Health & Safety Board
Tel: 867.667.8695

Email: Tina.Sebert@gov.yk.ca

# **Members of the IAIABC Executive Committee:**

## Craig Petersen (Michigan), President

Craig Petersen has been with the Michigan Department of Consumer and Industry Services since 1992. He served as chief magistrate for the Workers' Compensation Board of Magistrates from May 1992 until October 1999, supervising a team of 29 other Magistrates throughout the state of Michigan. Petersen then served as deputy director of the Bureau of Workers' Disability Compensation with managerial responsibility for the

board of magistrates, vocational rehabilitation, and mediation divisions before being appointed Director of the Bureau in February 2000. Petersen has been a member of the IAIABC Board of Regents since 1999 and has served on the Executive Committee since September 2000.

# Richard Gannon (California), President-Elect

Richard Gannon began his career with the California Department of Industrial Relations in 1992, when he was appointed Commissioner of the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board. Gannon held this position until May 1999, when he was appointed Administrative Director of the California Division of Workers' Compensation. Gannon was first elected to the IAIABC Executive Committee in September 2000.

# Glenn Morton (Nebraska), Vice-President

Glenn Morton currently serves as the Administrator of the Nebraska Workers' Compensation Court, a position he has held since July 1998. He began his career with the Nebraska Workers' Compensation Court in 1988 and served as Agency Legal Council until his appointment as Administrator. Active in the IAIABC for many years, Morton has served on committees addressing medical fee schedules, managed care, vocational rehabilitation, legislation, dispute resolution, compliance, benchmarking, and administration. He is currently Co-chair of the EDI Steering Committee. This is Morton's first year on the Executive Committee.

# Frank Fennerty (Washington), Secretary/Treasurer

Frank Fennerty has been the Labor Member of the Washington Board of Industrial Appeals since his appointment to the position in 1991. Prior to his appointment, Fennerty served as Business Manager of the Office of Professional Employees Union #23. A long-time supporter of the IAIABC, Fennerty served on the Legislation Committee from 1986 to 1993 and was a host for the 2000 Convention in Seattle.

He was first elected to the Executive Committee in 1999 and was first elected Secretary/Treasurer in 2000.

# Jesse Frankl (Connecticut), Immediate Past President

Jesse Frankl has been employed by the Connecticut Workers' Compensation Commission since 1991. First appointed as a Commissioner, he was appointed Chairman in 1992 and re-appointed in 1994 and 1998. Since 1999, Frankl has presided over hearings at the Workers' Compensation Commission's District Office in Hartford.

Mr. Frankl was first elected to the Executive Committee in 1996 and served in the offices of Secretary/Treasurer, Vice President, Acting President, and President.

#### **MEMBERS AT LARGE**

**Tony Armstrong**, President and CEO, Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board.

**Julie Benafield Bowman**, CEO, Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission.

Paul Dionne, Director, Maine Workers' Compensation Board.

**Rebecca Olivares**, Chair, Texas Workers' Compensation Commission.

**Micki Young**, Director, Florida Division of Workers' Compensation.