

## DESCRIPTION OF TSUNAMI NOTIFICATION ZONES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA



**Zone A:** Beginning on the Alaska/B.C. border near Stewart, B.C. and moving in a southward direction along the coast to the southern tip of Banks Island, including the Queen Charlotte Islands.

**Zone B:** Beginning on the southern tip of Banks Island to the northern tip of Vancouver Island (the western limit of the eastern boundary of Cape Scott Provincial Park.) This zone has a southern limit of a line running from the convergence of the Tsitika River and Johnstone Strait (in Robson Bight Provincial Park) on Vancouver Island in the south to the most eastern point of Broughton Island in the north.

**Zone C**: Beginning on the eastern boundary of Cape Scott Provincial Park on the northern tip of Vancouver Island and running in a south-easterly direction along the outer coast of Vancouver Island to Sombrio Point southeast of Port Renfrew.

**Zone D**: Beginning at Sombrio Point southeast of Port Renfrew and running in a easterly direction to the most northerly point of the Saanich Peninsula.

**Zone E**: Beginning at the most northerly point of the Saanich Peninsula, including Brentwood Bay and all the Gulf Islands within the Georgia Basin to one of two points at the northern limit. The northern limit is a line running from the convergence of the Tsitika River and Johnstone Strait (in Robson Bight Provincial Park) on Vancouver Island in the south to the most eastern point of Broughton Island in the north.