The Advisory Council for the Order of Prince Edward Island wishes to advise the public that nominations are now being received for the Year 2008 awards.



NOMINATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY NO LATER THAN 5:00 PM ON FRIDAY, MARCH 28, 2008.

Send completed nominations to: Charles MacKay Secretary Order of Prince Edward Island P.O. Box 2000 Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

For further information, contact: Order of Prince Edward Island Legislative Assembly Province House P.O. Box 2000 Charlottetown Prince Edward Island C1A 7N8

Phone: (902) 368-5970 Fax: (902) 368-5175

Email: chmackay@gov.pe.ca www.assembly.pe.ca/orderofpei

Aussi disponible en français.

### **Nomination Form**

1)	Name of Person Nomina	ted	
			Postal Code
	Occupation	Home Tel	Work Tel
2)	Name of Person Making	Nomination	
	Signature of Person Making Nomination		
	·		Postal Code
	Home Tel	Work Tel	
3)	Date of Nomination		
4)	Ay reasons for making this nomination are (This should be a concise and definitive statement of why you believe the nominee deserves to be awarded the Order of Prince Edward Island)		
	Please use additional pages	if required.	
<i>E</i> \			annahiral aliatah /aussiaulura vita a ta inaluda dataa at
5)	Your nomination must also be accompanied by an up-to-date biographical sketch/curriculum vitae to include dates of active participation of the nominee in organizations, and all honours and decorations earned by the nominee. Any other information which might be useful to the Advisory Council also is welcome and can be attached to the biographical sketch		
6)	Complete this nomination by providing the names of two or three persons who are familiar with the nominee's achievements and accomplishments, and would agree to be consulted in confidence.		
	Name		
	Address		Postal Code
	Home Tel	Work Tel	
	Name		
	Home Tel	Work Tel	
	Name		
		Work Tel	

ORDER OF

Prince Edward Island



2008

he Order of Prince Edward Island is the highest honour the Province can bestow. It is the giving of public recognition to individual Islanders whose efforts and accomplishments truly have been exemplary. There are many citizens who make remarkable contributions to the social, economic and cultural life of our province and its people, and the Order of Prince Edward Island is a unique opportunity

to honour them. The Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island is Chancellor of the Order of Prince Edward Island and confers the honour on not more than 3 people in an annual ceremony at Government House. The public nominates deserving individuals. An independent Advisory Council considers each nomination and makes final recommendations to the Premier as President of Executive Council.



## Who is eligible to be considered for investiture in the Order?

Anyone presently living in Prince Edward Island, or former long-term residents of the province, is eligible to be considered for investiture in the Order. Elected federal, provincial or municipal representatives and members of the judiciary are not eligible for nomination while still holding office. Posthumous nominations are not accepted.

#### Can I nominate someone?

Any individual or organization can submit nominations for the Order of Prince Edward Island. If you know of someone who has shown individual excellence or outstanding leadership in the community, or in their chosen profession or occupation, this is your opportunity to have them considered for special honour and recognition. For further information, call (902) 368-5970 or visit www.assembly.pe.ca/orderofpei. Nominations are received throughout the year, up until the annual deadline for the particular year.

#### Should I nominate someone?

The Order of Prince Edward Island has been established as a way of encouraging and acknowledging the outstanding achievements of individual citizens of the province. It is a special act of appreciation to nominate someone you believe is deserving of such an honour.

#### What does the recipient receive?

The Insignia of the Order of Prince Edward Island includes an impressive enameled medallion (Medal of Merit), which incorporates the Provincial Shield of Arms against a background of gold and blue, a stylized lapel pin and a miniature medal for less formal occasions. The Medal of Merit is worn with a ribbon of rust, green and white. Recipients of the Order also receive an official certificate and are entitled to use the letters O.P.E.I. after their names.

# Who makes up the Advisory Council? The Advisory Council, which reviews nominations and recommends the names of honour recipients, is comprised of the following people:

Mr. Maitland MacIsaac, Chair, Charlottetown

Mr. Grant Brooks, Union Corner

Ms. Margaret Murphy MacIsaac, Stratford

Ms. Lyla MacDonald, Morell

Hon. Gerard Mitchell, Chief Justice of Prince Edward Island

Mr. Allan Rankin, Clerk of Executive Council

Prof. Wade MacLauchlan, President of the University of Prince Edward Island

Mr. Charles Gillis, Souris

Ms. Antoinette Perry, Tignish

#### Members of the Order of PEI:

Honourable Gilbert R. Clements, O.P.E.I. (1996)

Mr. Ulric Poirier, O.P.E.I. (1996)

Reverend Charles Cheverie, O.P.E.I (1996)

Honourable Marion Reid, C.M., O.P.E.I. (1996)

Dr. Kent Ellis, O.P.E.I. (1996)

Dr. George Dewar, C.M, O.P.E.I. (1996)

Mr. James Hogan, O.P.E.I. (1996)

Ms. Helen Stewart MacRae, O.P.E.I. (1997)

Sister Mary Deighan, O.P.E.I. (1997)

Mr. Charles Linkletter, C.M, O.P.E.I. (1997) Ms. Marlene Bryenton, O.P.E.I. (1998)

Ms. Marie Burge, O.P.E.I. (1998)

Mr. Antoine Richard, C.M., O.P.E.I. (1998)

Ms. Edith Eldershaw, O.P.E.I. (1999)

M3. Editif Eldershlow, O.F.E.I. (1777)

Dr. Hubert O'Hanley, O.P.E.I. (1999)

Mr. Paul H. Schurman, C.M. O.P.E.I. (1999) M. J. Henri Gaudet, C.M., O.P.E.I. (2000)

Mr. Arthur Hudson, O.P.E.I. (2000)

Ms. Shirley McGinn, O.P.E.I. (2000)

Honourable J. Léonce Bernard, O.P.E.I. (2001)

Dr. John H. Maloney, O.P.E.I. (2001)

Ms. Maylea Manning, O.P.E.I. (2001)

Ms. Kay Wall, O.P.E.I. (2001)

Ms. Anna Duffy, O.P.E.I. (2001)

Mr. Allan Graham, O.P.E.I. (2002)

Mr. Elmer Williams, O.P.E.I. (2002)

Mr. Georges Arsenault, O.P.E.I. (2003)

Mr. Donald M. Deacon, O.C., M.C., O.P.E.I. (2003)

II. Donald III. Dedeon, O.C., III.C., O.I.L

Mr. Noel Wilson, O.P.E.I. (2003)

Reverend Éloi Arsenault, O.P.E.I. (2004)

Reverend Dr. F.W.P. Bolger CM, O.P.E.I. (2004)

Ms. Barbara McNeill, O.P.E.I. (2004)

Ms. Angèle Arsenault, O.C., O.P.E.I. (2005)

Ms. Leone Bagnall, C.M., O.P.E.I. (2005)

Mr. Derek Key, Q.C., O.P.E.I. (2005)

Hon. Barbara A. Hagerman, Chancellor, O.P.E.I. (2006)

Dr. Sheldon Cameron, O.P.E.I. (2006)

Mr. Frank Ledwell, O.P.E.I. (2006)

Ms. Dorothy Lewis, O.P.E.I. (2006)

Mr. William MacLean, O.P.E.I. (2007)

Mr. Ray Murphy, O.P.E.I. (2007)

Ms. Helen Robbins, O.P.E.I. (2007)