

News Release.....

FOR RELEASE June 15, 2007 #07-124

2007 PREMIER'S AWARD OF EXCELLENCE NOMINEES ANNOUNCED

WHITEHORSE – The 2007 Premier's Awards of Excellence individual and team nominees were announced today at the National Public Service Week employee barbeque in Whitehorse.

All active employees appointed under the *Yukon Public Service Act* or the *Education Act* are eligible for nomination. Fourteen individuals and twelve teams were nominated this year.

"I am pleased that the 2007 Premier's Award of Excellence process has led to so many nominations," Premier Dennis Fentie said. "These employees represent the hard work of all public servants and I am looking forward to presenting awards to the recipients in the fall."

The Premier's Award of Excellence Selection Committee members include: Catherine Simpson and Louise Girard, co-chairs; Joe MacGillivray, past chair; Liz McKee, past vice chair; Dennis Cooley; Diane Stewart; Jon Bowen, Phil Treusch and Debra Thibodeau from within government, and Adeline Webber as the public representative on the committee.

- 30 -

Attachment: List of 2007 Premier's Award of Excellence individual and team nominees

Contact:

Liz McKee
Premier's Award of Excellence Selection Committee (867) 667-3537

liz.mckee@gov.yk.ca

Attachment: List of 2007 Premier's Award of Excellence individual and team nominees

Individuals nominated include:

- Carson Atkinson, Education;
- Holly Brown, Health & Social Services;
- Sandra Bryce, Justice;
- Joan Downey, Highways & Public Works;
- Bea Felker, Health & Social Services;
- Tony Gonda, Tourism & Culture;
- Glenn Grant, Finance;
- Daniela Meier, Health & Social Services;
- Philip Merchant, Environment;
- Nancy Mercier, Health & Social Services;
- Roni-Sue Sparvier, Highways & Public Works;
- Jocelyn Swan, Health & Social Services;
- Carole Theriault, Education; and
- Donna Wilkinson, Health & Social Services.

Team nominations include:

- Aboriginal Employees Forum Working Group;
- Canada Winter Games Executive Leaders:
- Circles of Respect & Equality (CORE) Committee;
- Continuing Care Wellness Committee;
- Community Nurses in all Yukon communities;
- "All the ladies" of Corporate Affairs;
- Health Human Resource Strategy Project;
- Highway 5 Dempster Highway Transportation & Maintenance Camp crew;
- Mail Room Team;
- Play Safe, Play Hard project team;
- Macdonald Lodge Seniors' Residence staff team; and
- Yukon Geological Survey team.