



FOR RELEASE # 07-203 September 25, 2007

PRESENTATION CEREMONY HONOURS PREMIER'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

WHITEHORSE: The 2007 Premier's Award of Excellence was presented to three individuals and two teams by Premier Dennis Fentie at a September 21 ceremony in Whitehorse.

"One of the most important elements of the Yukon government's *Investing in Public Service* initiative is the recognition of the excellent service that our employees deliver to the Yukon public on a daily basis," Fentie said.

The luncheon ceremony was attended by award recipients and guests, recipient nominators, senior government officials and the Premier's Award of Excellence Selection Committee.

"The recipients of this year's awards are examples of public servants who have demonstrated the highest standards in organizational excellence, quality service and innovation on behalf of all Yukoners," Fentie added.

The three individual recipients of this year's awards are Bea Felker, Glenn Grant and Jocelyn Swan. Team awards were presented to the Canada Winter Games Executive team and the Play Safe Play Hard team.

The Premier's Award of Excellence receives nominations from government employees as well as from other Yukon people who want to recognize public servants who have exhibited excellence in service delivery and other contributions. Recipients are chosen by the Premier's Award of Excellence Selection Committee during a review process. The selection committee received 14 individual and 12 team nominations this year.

Committee members include: Catherine Simpson and Louise Girard, this year's co-chairs; Joe MacGillivray, past chair; Bonnie Donnelly; Deborah Thibodeau; Jon Bowen; Dennis Cooley; Diane Stewart; Phil Treusch and Liz McKee. Adeline Webber is the public representative on the committee. Cheryl Hanulik is the Awards and Recognition Assistant for the committee.

The 2008 Premier's Award of Excellence call for nominations will be issued early next year.

-30-

Lists of Award recipients and other nominations attached. Contact: Liz McKee, member Premier's Award of Excellence Selection Committee

Roxanne Vallevand Cabinet Communications (867) 667-3537 <u>liz.mckee@gov.yk.ca</u> (867) 633-7949 <u>roxanne.vallevand@gov.yk.ca</u>

2007 Premier's Award of Excellence – recipients

Bea Felker – Bea was unable to attend the ceremony. One of her nominators, Barry Kidd, accepted her award on her behalf.

Bea was nominated for her "leadership, management and community-focused skills in nursing and emergency services". Bea has been with the Yukon government for 30 years and began her career as a nurse manager in Dawson City. She has worked in Telehealth, community nursing and in 2005 became the Director of Emergency Services. In her nomination, Bea is described as a practical person who expects the highest standard of care for all clients. Her nominators say that she is an "exemplary leader" who respects her co-workers and who, in turn, is trusted by them.

Glenn Grant – Glenn was unable to attend the ceremony. David Hrycan, Deputy Minister in the Department of Finance accepted Glenn's award on his behalf.

Glenn was nominated for his "leadership, dedication, innovation and perseverance that led to a new Territorial Formula Financing Arrangement (TFF) for the three northern territories". As the Senior Fiscal Advisor in Ottawa Glenn brought together parties representing Yukon, NWT and Nunavut in 2002 to work out a formula financing agreement after the federal government had made unilateral changes to the funding arrangements. Glenn found a common ground for a business case that the three territories could present to the federal government – and just this year the federal Minister of Finance announced a return to a principles-based agreement.

Jocelyn Swan

Jocelyn was nominated "for her tireless dedication to provide safe, competent and ethical patient care for marginalized people". Jocelyn's nominators describe her as someone who is professional and tireless in her quest to develop flexible services for her clients. Jocelyn is seen as an innovator who, after evaluating the needs of her clients, developed ways to make better use of time and improve service delivery. She is described as "a role model for newer nurses in the field".

Canada Winter Games Executive team

The people on this team were nominated "for their commitment to their community, the event, the athletes and cultural participants and to the legacy this event would provide".

Members of this interdepartmental team – with people from Tourism and Culture, Community Services and Education – include Karen Thomson, Laurel Parry, Denny Kobayashi, Walter Brennan, Terry Bidniak, JoAnne Harach and Peter Milner (whose award was presented posthumously).

Play Safe, Play Hard team

The people on this team were nominated "for their talent and innovation to step out of the box to develop promotional material that captures the attention of young people."

Team members include Pat Living, Paula Pasquali, Ian Parker, Brianne Meister, Daniela Meier and Susie Ross 2007 Premier's Award of Excellence - other nominations

Individuals:

- Carson Atkinson, Education;
- Holly Brown, Health & Social Services;
- Sandra Bryce, Justice;
- Joan Downey, Highways & Public Works;
- Tony Gonda, Tourism & Culture;
- Daniela Meier, Health & Social Services;
- Philip Merchant, Environment;
- Nancy Mercier, Health & Social Services;
- Roni-Sue Sparvier, Highways & Public Works;
- Carole Theriault, Education; and
- Donna Wilkinson, Health & Social Services.

Teams:

- Aboriginal Employees Forum Working Group;
- Circles of Respect & Equality (CORE) Committee;
- Continuing Care Wellness Committee;
- Community Nurses in all Yukon communities;
- "All the ladies" of Corporate Affairs;
- Health Human Resource Strategy Project;
- Highway 5 Dempster Highway Transportation & Maintenance Camp crew;
- Mail Room Team;
- Macdonald Lodge Seniors' Residence staff team; and
- Yukon Geological Survey team.