



FOR RELEASE October 28, 2006

#215

COMMISSIONER SWEARS IN NEW GOVERNMENT CABINET

WHITEHORSE – Yukon Commissioner Geraldine Van Bibber today swore in the new Yukon Cabinet, headed by Premier Dennis Fentie.

"I am pleased to present to the people of Yukon, the members of this new Cabinet," Fentie said. "On behalf of my colleagues, we are honoured and proud to represent Yukoners for a second consecutive term in office."

The new Cabinet Ministers and their portfolios are:

Dennis Fentie Executive Council Office; Finance; Environment

Elaine Taylor Tourism & Culture; Women's Directorate

Marian Horne Justice

Archie Lang Energy, Mines & Resources; Highways & Public Works; Yukon Development

Corporation; Yukon Energy Corporation

Glenn Hart Community Services; Public Service Commission

Jim Kenyon Economic Development; Yukon Housing Corporation; Yukon Liquor Corporation

Brad Cathers Health & Social Services; Workers' Compensation Health & Safety Board

Patrick Rouble Education

"I am confident this team brings together the talent, experience and dedication to carry on building Yukon's prosperity by continuing the vision and direction that began with the election in 2002," Fentie said.

-30-

Contact:

Patch Groenewegen Communications Analyst Executive Council Office (867) 667-8968 patch.groenewegen@gov.yk.ca