

News Release.....

FOR RELEASE June 2, 2006

#06-124

TRANSPORTATION HALL OF FAME RECOGNIZES FOUR NEW INDUCTEES

WHITEHORSE – This year's Yukon Transportation Hall of Fame ceremony will recognize four new inductees into the Transportation Hall of Fame.

"This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Transportation Hall of Fame Awards," Highways and Public Works Minister Glenn Hart said. "This ceremony provides an opportunity to honour these Yukoners, who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of the transportation industry in the Yukon."

Peter Becker will be inducted into the Transportation Hall of Fame as the 2006 Transportation 'Person of the Year'. Innovator, entrepreneur and inventor are just a few words that describe the nature of Peter's life work and his achievements in the practical design and development of transportation safety devices.

A.R. "Happy" and Pauline LePage are being honoured as 'Transportation Pioneers'. For nearly four decades they were active contributors to the operation and development of practically every form of transportation service and infrastructure in the Yukon. In particular, their contributions to the Yukon River wood camps helped keep the sternwheelers running along the river corridor.

The 'Order of Polaris', a new aviation award that is being introduced this year as part of the Transportation Hall of Fame ceremony, will go to the late Al Kapty. Mr. Kapty is being recognized for his significant contributions and advancements to northern aviation.

The Transportation Hall of Fame Awards were created in 1996 by the Yukon Transportation Museum, the Yukon Transportation Association and the Yukon government to honour people who have made significant and lasting contributions to transportation in the Yukon. Inductees are chosen by an independent panel.

The induction ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. on June 6 in the Yukon Transportation Museum, located at 30 Electra Crescent (next to the Whitehorse Airport).

-30-

This news release is also available on the internet at: http://www.gov.yk.ca/news/

Contact:

Peter Carr Cabinet Communications (867) 667-8688 peter.carr@gov.yk.ca

Carmen Ingram
Highways and Public Works
(867) 456-3825
carmen.ingram@gov.yk.ca