



FOR RELEASE #06-133

June 08, 2006

YUKON STUDENTS RECOGNIZED FOR ACADEMIC/ATHLETIC EXCELLENCE

WHITEHORSE - Education Minister John Edzerza is pleased to announce that 10 Yukon studentathletes have been recognized for academic and athletic excellence. These students will be awarded a scholarship of \$500 each that will benefit their post-secondary studies in the future.

"This scholarship is a great example of the positive role that extra-curricular involvement can play in the overall school experience of Yukon students," Edzerza said. "I wish to thank Canada Basketball's Be-One Scholarship Program, Yukon Schools' Athletic Association and Basketball Yukon for working collaboratively to support these students."

The Canada Basketball Be-One Scholarship celebrates both academic success and amateur sport community leadership through well-rounded participation as a high school basketball athlete. Applicants are evaluated based on academic and athletic achievement as well as their leadership and volunteerism in athletics and in the community.

"This program initiative is a clear and concrete example of Basketball Canada honouring a commitment to reinvest funds from its national membership program, Be-One, back into the community," Tim Brady, President of Basketball Yukon, said.

"These deserving recipients have demonstrated their commitment towards their education and leadership within their communities," Nicole Morgan, President of the Yukon Schools' Athletic Association, said.

The following Yukon students have been honoured with the Be-One scholarship for their academic and athletic achievements: Kathy Sutherland, Kasia Leary, Kimberley Carter, Janna Tait, Aaron McKenzie, Matthew Thomson, Jared Hougen and Maxwell Kelly (Whitehorse); William Dickson and Celine Skerget (Watson Lake).

-30-

Contact: Peter Carr Cabinet Communications Advisor (867) 667-8688 <u>peter.carr@gov.yk.ca</u>

Clea Ainsworth Communications Coordinator, Education (867) 393-7102 <u>clea.ainsworth@gov.yk.ca</u>