

News Release.....

FOR RELEASE August 10, 2006 #06-187

NEW BOARD MEMBERS ANNOUNCED FOR YUKON ARTS CENTRE

WHITEHORSE – Four new board members have been appointed to the Yukon Arts Centre Corporation Board, announced Tourism and Culture Minister Elaine Taylor.

Joan Stanton, Elliot Hamilton, Margriet Aasman and Duane Ghastant' Aucoin will serve three-year terms. David Curtis, Valerie Hodgson and Alexis Brandt were re-appointed for three years. Duncan Sinclair continues as Chair for another two years, as do board members Michele Emslie, Jackie Bazett, Josée Bélisle and Shirlee Frost.

"The Yukon Arts Centre has distinguished itself as a vital force in the arts community since it began operations in 1992," Taylor said. "A wide range of expertise is required for corporation directors, including a background in performing or visual arts, or business management as well as a dedication to Yukon arts development."

The Yukon Arts Centre board of directors is made up of 12 individuals appointed by the Minister of Tourism and Culture.

"The appointments were selected from nominations forwarded by the arts community and business organizations, First Nations and municipalities," Taylor said. "Art appreciation and art education are key values in guiding the work of the Board as they continue to work in partnerships with arts organizations, groups and individual artists."

The Yukon Arts Centre is supported with \$650,000 in annual operating funding from the Yukon government. Other sources of funding include municipal and federal funds as well as fundraising and earned revenue.

-30-

Contact:

Peter Carr Cabinet Communication (867) 677-8688 peter.carr@gov.yk.ca Michael Edwards A/Communication Officer, Tourism and Culture (867) 667-8947 <u>mike.edwards@gov.yk.ca</u>