Databases

The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains 77,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. ASTIS includes all subjects and covers the three territories, the northern parts of seven provinces and the adjacent marine areas. ASTIS records contain abstracts, detailed subject and geographic indexing terms, and links to 20,000 publications that are available online.
ASTIS is responsible for the Canadian IPY Publications Database, which is part of the International Polar Year Publications Database.
The following databases are subsets of the main ASTIS database. They provide selected records and background information for specific regions, subjects or projects.

• The Nunavut Database, describing 31,800 publications and research projects about Nunavut.
• The Inuvialuit Settlement Region Database, describing 12,400 publications and research projects about the Inuvialuit Settlement Region.
• The Hydrocarbon Impacts database, describing 8,600 publications and research projects about the environmental impacts, socio-economic effects and regulation of oil and gas exploration, development and transportation in northern Canada. 
• The Yukon Biodiversity Database, describing 8,200 publications and research projects about the biology of Yukon and the Beaufort Sea.
• The Nunavik Bibliography, describing 7,200 publications about northern Quebec.
• The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database, describing 6,500 publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region.
• The Canadian IPY Publications Database, describing 4,400 publications by or about International Polar Year projects in Canada.
• The NCP Publications Database, describing 2,800 publications that have resulted from the Northern Contaminants Program.
• The Arctic Contents page of this website, which provides access to the 2,700 papers, notes, commentaries, editorials, profiles, obituaries and essays that have appeared in AINA's peer-reviewed journal Arctic.
• The ArcticNet Publications Database, describing 2,400 publications that have resulted from ArcticNet, the Canadian Arctic Shelf Exchange Study (CASES) and the International North Water Polynya Study (NOW).
• The Northern Granular Resources Bibliographic Database, describing 2000 publications about granular resources (gravel, sand and crushed rock for use in construction) in Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. See the Key Publications page for an overview.
• The Kluane Lake Research Station Bibliography, describing 1,100 publications resulting from research at AINA's Kluane Lake Research Station.
• The Mining and the Aquatic Environment Bibliography, describing 540 publications on the effects of hard rock mining on the aquatic environment of Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.
• The Canadian Permafrost Conferences website, which provides searching and viewing of the 256 papers and other items that appeared in the proceedings of the six Canadian Permafrost Conferences (1962-2010).
• The AES NWT Water Bibliography, describing 218 publications prepared under the Arctic Environmental Strategy on all aspects of fresh water in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

ASTIS is working to improve its coverage of publications from the following northern Canadian research projects. (See the Project menu of the KLRS Bibliography for projects based at Kluane.) We may be able to create searchable publication databases for these projects in the future, but for now we are making available these incomplete lists of citations sorted by author. 

• Devon Island Research Station (DIRS)
• Mackenzie GEWEX Study (MAGS)

 All of the 4,150 publications on the AINA Publications Server are available through ASTIS.
 
  Follow @ASTISdatabase